Complaints, too much or not enough ?

By MAYS Latest Reply 2010-02-12 00:13:20 -0600
Started 2010-02-10 10:22:23 -0600

We all have the right to complain but do we complain too much or not enough ?

Does it really help or hurt us and \ or others ?

Do we ask or really care about what others have to say or how they may feel about our complaints ?

We, ourselves are responsible for the control of our diabetes and it's complications, but many others are drawn into this complex nature of life due to interaction between us and them.

What do you think, too much complaining or not enough ?

10 replies

Danni-the-diabetic 2010-02-12 00:13:20 -0600 Report

I use to be horrible with complaining, my sister finally pointed it out to me and I was more aware and realized there was no need to complain so much.
It's kinda like if someone gets a headache, they're going to say, "man, I have a headache"…is that complaining or just making a statement!?

rankearl 2010-02-11 09:47:53 -0600 Report

god grant me the serenity to accept the things i cannot change the courage to to change the things i can and the wisdom to know the difference he also gives us chices that is the hard part that is when we make mistakes but we also learn from them that is where complaints come from too most time when we are complaining we are reaching to see did you do that too none of our prefect that is what makes us human hugs julie

MAYS 2010-02-11 09:56:58 -0600 Report

Comment accepted and greatly appreciated !

I have always lived by this :

Change the things that you can and don't complain.

Complain to those who can change the things that you cannot.

Don't worry or complain about the things that no one can change.

" Mays "

cc9 2010-02-11 07:46:31 -0600 Report

its a question of semantics. verbalisation is human way to make sense of experience. maybe it needs a reframe which is non-judgemental.

MAYS 2010-02-11 08:06:36 -0600 Report

Possibly except for this :
It's precise and straight to the point, no blanks to fill in !
Sometimes being too direct intimidates others causing defensive barricades to go up mentally, I always see things from all points of view possible, leaving nothing to be misinterpreted.

" Mays "

cc9 2010-02-11 20:18:17 -0600 Report

mays yes i paid a price for being direct about things that are important. and as you pointed out directness cause barricades to come up and ppl dig into their corners.

MAYS 2010-02-11 20:28:52 -0600 Report

Sometimes I care too much and absorb more than my share of criticism, but it doesn't stop me, if I can help one person I'm happy !

MAYS 2010-02-10 10:48:42 -0600 Report

No I'm not directing this at this site or any of the discussions listed here, I'm talking about life in general, stating that venting is great if needed, but why complain about what you can't control, change what you can.

My discussion is neither male nor female based or directive.

I have the utmost respect for everyone in life until given a reason not to be, I state very clearly my point of view both written and verbally and I never imply or take anything out of context, I believe in being precise and straight to the point in all matters at all times, it eliminates misunderstandings.

It's a conversation starter, not an attack on anyone here or elsewhere ! :-)

donna13 2010-02-10 10:31:09 -0600 Report

Maybe it's a male/female thing. Women need to get their feelings out, need to vent. Do we do it too much? Probably. But I for one do not think their is too much complaining on this site, If that's what you meant. If you don't think it is helpful, don't read the piss and moan threads.

MAYS 2010-02-10 10:28:21 -0600 Report

Complain to those who can change things,
Change the things that you can,
Don't worry about what you can't control.

Can you stop the rain (or snow) ?
If not, stay indoors or take an umbrella with you !

" Mays "

Next Discussion: Prenatal vs Multi »