She Reads BoOks Like One WouLd BreathE Air ...

By GeekonBoard Latest Reply 2015-03-30 16:45:45 -0500
Started 2015-03-09 20:59:52 -0500

I'm a sucker for a great book!
In fact, I've been known to have several books going at one time. Magazines are also a weakness of mine - I'm an artist & a visual being so those are some of the sorts of things that truly get my creative juices brewing.
I'm truly curious if you are a reader or books, websites, blogs, comics, — whatever your passion —
I was hoping you guys & gals would share some of your favorites.
Be them about diabetes or any other subject. In fact, I would love to know any "go to" diabetic book or cookbook, but if you answer you should TRY to include something else like another book that is also a favorite or "go to" when you are wanting a break from the swirling thoughts of our daily walks with diabetes.
Please share & have fun with it!
I'm playing catch up on being away from the website while work took over for a bit. Loving all the threads & great shares!! :)

28 replies

RebDee 2015-03-11 11:15:19 -0500 Report

I love cookbooks and have edited several for synagogues and Women's League for Conservative Judaism as well as Adoptaides. If you would like some great Diabetic recipes try Diabetes Connect recipes or My Fitness Pal recipes.

Just Joyce
Just Joyce 2015-03-10 20:00:16 -0500 Report

I no longer read any more books on diabetes and I do not read magazines unless i am sitting in a doctors office

I read:
Catherine Coulters FBI Thrillers
Diane Mott Davidson
Joanne Fluke
Cindy Woodsmall
Historical Romance
Legal Drama
Anything with a Serial Killer or mass murderer
Just finished 12 Years a Slave
I have read all of Stieg Larsson
All of Dean Koontz older books
John Grisham
i gave up on the Alex Cross books
I will read just about anything. I have the Kindle App on my Tablet so I live in Amazon.Com's free book section or I go on line and borrow books from the library. I have about 200 books on my kindle.

RebDee 2015-03-11 11:19:48 -0500 Report

I'm with Joyce but would like to add to that list the following names:
Janet Evanovich
Sue Bolton
Maggie Anton
Jill Gregory & Karen Tintori
Faye Kellerman (but not Jonathan Kellerman)
and I also read the Torah which is the OId Testament,
And I do read magazine articles in the Reader's Digest especially if they pertain to Diabetes.

Nick1962 2015-03-10 18:09:15 -0500 Report

We’ve done this a few times in the past – glad someone resurrected it!
I’m one who learned to like to read later in life, as well as usually have two books going at a time. Pretty tough when you have authors like James Patterson and Jonathan Kellerman who have somewhat similar characters and plot lines. Love the Thai murder mysteries too – Christopher G. Moore, John Burdett.
I do have the non-fiction side too like Roger Atwood’s Stealing History which is all about real tomb raiders and how looting of archeological treasures uncovered one of this centuries most significant finds.

GeekonBoard 2015-03-10 22:56:20 -0500 Report

Love Christopher G. Moore too!!
I can also get into a juicy nonfiction book.
Thanks for sharing!

Type1Lou 2015-03-11 14:12:24 -0500 Report

Forgot about Cristopher Moore…"The Serpent of Venice" was the last one of his that made me laugh out loud! He is just sooooo outrageous! Another funny, quirky author is Jasper Fforde. His Tuesday Next series beginning with "The Eyre Affair" is peopled with literary characters. Miss Havisham (from Dicken's "Great Expectations") loves to drive fast cars in Fforde's books.

Nick1962 2015-03-11 17:39:15 -0500 Report

If we're talking Christopher Moore (not Christopher G. Moore) then "Sacre Bleu" was my favorite. However, dirty as it was "Fool" was one I read twice (maybe that's why).

Christopher G. Moore however you might also like - an Asian (Thailand) murder mystery writer and his Vincent Calvino series has a sort of "noir" flair to it. Think Harry Hole in Bangkok

Type1Lou 2015-03-12 07:48:02 -0500 Report

Thanks Nick…I'll check out Christopher G…an author I wasn't aware of. The other Christopher Moore is refreshingly shocking and irreverant…nothing is sacred! Not for everyone but glad I found him.

Type1Lou 2015-03-10 18:07:59 -0500 Report

Two diabetes books I often recommend are Gary Scheiner's "Think Like a Pancreas" (my go-to manual for info on diabetes) and Dr Richard Bernstein's "Diabetes Solution" which was a turning point for me in taking control and reducing my carb intake. I LOVE fiction: historical, thrillers, mysteries, fantasy and sci-fi. I always have a book going. Last night I just finished Arianna Franklin's "The Murderous Procession", the 4th in a series of historical murder mysteries featuring the character of Adelia Aguilar in 12th century Europe during the reign of Henry II of England. I'll be starting on Dennis Lehane's "The Given Day" tonight. Some of my favorite authors are Laurell K Hamilton, Jim Butcher, Sherri Tepper, Carl Hiaasen, Ian Rankin, Jo Nesbo, Henning Mankell. I read Jeff Shaara's "The Steel Wave" in preparation for an upcoming trip to Normandy. I also listen to audio books when driving or working in my sewing room. Currently I'm nearing the end of listening to James Lee Burke's "The Glass Rainbow." So many books, so little time!

Nick1962 2015-03-11 10:32:33 -0500 Report

Made the mistake of reading Jo Nesbo out of order. Really wish I hadn't done that.

Type1Lou 2015-03-11 14:20:11 -0500 Report

Yeah…I keep wondering if we'll see Harry Hole again…Have you read "The Son" which was published in 2014? Another nordic mystery writer that I like is Camilla Lackberg.

Nick1962 2015-03-11 17:30:11 -0500 Report

I suspect the only way Harry’s coming back is as a pre-quel. I’ve not gotten into any of Nesbo’s others off the Hole series (I want to finish that first), so the last one, “The Devil’s Star” is on it’ way from the 99 cent store. Haven’t tried Camilla Lackberg, but I will. I often have two books going from different parts of the world to try to keep my mind sharp. Jeffry Archer’s “Only Time Will Tell” is what I just started on.

Type1Lou 2015-03-12 07:50:00 -0500 Report

Is that Archer's new series…I read the last one published, thinking it was a trilogy but I think 5 books are planned…I hate to wait for the next one…Like George RR Martin's Game of Thrones books…when will the next one come out?????

Nick1962 2015-03-12 09:44:12 -0500 Report

This is the first in the Clifton Chronicles - 2011 I think, so not really new. I really enjoy his stuff too.

Pegsy 2015-03-10 16:21:39 -0500 Report

I love to read. I enjoy mysteries (but nothing gory) and Christian, inspirational books. When I want to get out of the house and just relax somewhere I usually head to a bookstore. I can spend HOURS browsing bookstores!

RebDee 2015-03-11 11:22:03 -0500 Report

Me too but the bookstores seem to be disappearing and the best way to get books is on my Kindle through Amazon.

Pegsy 2015-03-11 12:35:48 -0500 Report

I have three bookstores somewhat nearby. I am grateful! I don't want to use a kindle as the light from it contributes to my trouble sleeping at night. I avoid all electronic devices at least an hour before bed. I even cover the clock light in my bedroom with black tape, LOL.

suecsdy 2015-03-10 11:32:55 -0500 Report

Reading has always been one of my favorite hobbies. I love a good murder mystery, but not the really gory stuff. Science fiction and fantasy are also favorites. Seanan Mcguire and Charles De Lint write urban fantasy which genre I like very much.
I used to collect the little grocery store cookbooks, the ones at the checkstand,but not so much any more unless they are low carb or diabetes themed.
One book I read a few yrs ago was an account of the 24 hrs surrounding the death of Abraham Lincoln. I thought it would be dry and factual as those books can sometimes be, but found it very fascinating. After I read it, I loaned it to my daughter and my then 7 yr old grandson read it too. Could have knocked me over with a feather when he started spouting stuff he had read in that book.
I treated myself to a Kindle Fire a few yrs ago when I was still working and wouldn't be without it now. I take it everywhere and if I don't want to read, then I can play a game.

GabbyPA 2015-03-10 11:02:40 -0500 Report

Though I am a lover of all things paper, I have always struggled with reading books which is weird, because I love to write. Go figure. Being an artist as well, I delve into pictures and captions. I love coffee table books. Some of my most favorite books are the story board and art books of animated movies. I have several of those and the insight offered by the artists on the drawings is fascinating to me.

I have not read many, but even graphic novels are interesting. I have a special love for Japanese ones that have no words at all, you follow the story totally by visual, which can be tricky if you don't understand the cultural nuances. (I had a Japanese room mate in college and she introduced me to those)

When I research with books, I always have highlighter and pen in hand. I totally ruin those books, but I find if I comment and write things down right there next to the authors words, it helps me make it my own and stick in my head more. That is one reason I find internet research difficult. My screen would be a rainbow! LOL

Cook books suffer the same vandalism. I adjust every recipe, make my notes and do the nutritional values based on how I cook it. People say it's the sign of a well loved book. My books are loved. <3

When I do read, to just read, I enjoy adventure, fantasy, poetry and true life stories. Actually, I enjoy books of history, which I wish I had enjoyed as a kid. It gives you great perspective on how far we have come and what we have battled through as a country and in the world. I am in a serial now called 299 Days that is a series of 10 books. They are not all out yet, but I have to book 8 so far. Almost done.

Go to books? I think I have "mood" books. LOL. For diabetes, my go to is my food calorie, carb and fat guide. I use it every day. My cook books vary, but I always find myself going back to my Flavorful Seasons and Paleo cook books.

GeekonBoard 2015-03-10 23:00:53 -0500 Report

Hey Gabby!
I have learned to love reading — wasn't too much of a fan in my younger years. I totally get the visual draw — I LOVE graphic novels & coffee books!
I can also relate on having pen in hand. I sometimes feel bad cause I'm always highlighting & underlining things or writing in the margins — sort of makes donating them have a down side to people accepting them. But, it's one of my "things" ;)
Thanks for the share girl!

valentine lady
valentine lady 2015-03-10 09:27:21 -0500 Report

Hi Geekonboard,
I also love to read. I read love stories and mysteries. My favorite
Author is James Patterson. I love his books. Danelle Steel is my favorite love story author. I just can't ever remember how to spell her name. LOL. I love her books too. Of course I read other authors but
these 2 are my favorites. Happy reading to you…VL

debcox 2015-03-10 02:57:55 -0500 Report

I love to read!!! I love mysteries, biographies, Christian or pretty much anything but horror. My favorite author is Lee Child. I love his Jack Reacher Character.

Type1Lou 2015-03-10 18:10:33 -0500 Report

I've read all of Lee Child's books and love the Jack Reacher character. I was pleasantly surprised at how well Tom Cruise portrayed him in the movie "Reacher".

RebDee 2015-03-10 00:04:15 -0500 Report

I love to read. But because of my bad eyes, I need large print. Large print books are too heavy. So I got a Kindle and I love it. It is light weight with large print. I carry it wherever I go and read in all the doctors' waiting rooms or even in the car when I am a passenger. The cost of the Kindle is less than $100 unless you want one with all the bells and whistles which are not necessary.

GeekonBoard 2015-03-10 23:02:41 -0500 Report

I never thought I would switch from the printed books to a Kindle, but I finally purchased a Kindle. I cannot imagine my life without my Kindle, but I still love to buy printed books. I find a comfort & passion with my movies & books. Thanks for sharing RebDee!

RebDee 2015-03-11 11:24:29 -0500 Report

You are quite welcome Geek. I too can't imagine my life without my Kindle. I cannot read paperback books because the print is too small. And when I get a large print book, I have a hard time holding it as the book is so heavy. Therefore I rely on my Kindle. I also try not to go above $9 per book (and usually don't have to unless it is a special book that I must have for book club).

RebDee 2015-03-14 18:35:57 -0500 Report

Because of my bad eyesight, I joined the Braille Institute. There are many benefits. I got a phone that has large numbers. I became a member of their recorded book group and at first received tapes of books which play only on their recorder which they sent to me for free. Now they have sent me their new recorder for CDs and send me CDs for what ever books I want to read. They send a monthly list of books that are now recorded.
I got so used to hearing books, that I started listening to books on CD in my car. Mostly I listen to Janet Evanovich's Plum Series. I get so many laughs throughout those books, that people who drive up next to me in the next lane see me laughing and just stare - they must think I am crazy. But I NEVER EVER talk on the phone while in the car.