A dependent diabetic review of Plexus Slim

nbhouse6
By nbhouse6 Latest Reply 2014-06-08 18:17:00 -0500
Started 2014-04-24 15:33:22 -0500

I just wanted to share Sharon Greens success story

As an insulin dependent diabetic.. I personally urge ALL diabetics to at the very least try Plexus. Even if you don't need to lose weight… the things Plexus can do for diabetes is unbelievable. For the past six years, I have lived daily by a strict diet and insulin time schedule. Two types of insulin, five shots a day, testing glucose 5 times a day, counting carbs and calories and still having constant high readings, over 400 on a daily basis. It was frustrating and depressing to say the least. No way to really live. I was very skeptical about Plexus, but I was also desperate to have a more enjoyable life. Four months on plexus, and I am currently down to one type of insulin, only two shots a day.. and steadily decreasing the doses of those two shots. I now have abnormal LOW glucose readings. And no, I did NOT lose 5 pounds the first week, or 20 in the first month.. in fact, I did not lose even one little ounce until half way through the third month… and now, I've suddenly dropped two pants sizes. But the amazing things it did for my diabetes and over all health was well worth it to continue with plexus, even if I never lost the weight. So if you are diabetic, pre-diabetic or just have family history of diabetes.. then you owe it to yourself to try plexus… in fact, you owe it to your family for you to try it so that you can live healthier and longer! thanks for reading my long winded story!


20 replies

nbhouse6
nbhouse6 2014-04-24 17:09:15 -0500 Report

I have been reading people's stories on DC for a while now and have seen a lot of people asking for help. That's what this site is for, It's for people to offer help to others. What if you tried this product and were able to get off some of your medication. It is helping so many people do just that. What would it be worth to you if this helped you do that? What price tag would you put on that? Lots of people bash a product because it's company is a MLM bussiness before even looking at the product and what it is doing for people. I would love to hear some more feed back and answer some more questions.

haoleboy
haoleboy 2014-04-24 17:39:35 -0500 Report

Multi-Level Marketing is not in and of itself a bad thing. Many years ago I had a bit of success in the Amway business.
My question would be - can you provide a peer reviewed independent study that substantiates the health claims?
Anecdotal stories by people that sell the product have little credibility.

nbhouse6
nbhouse6 2014-04-24 18:12:25 -0500 Report

I'm glad you asked. My mother in-law, about 5 months ago went to the doctor because she was very lethargic and her blood sugar was 450.
She began taking this product and has since went back to the doctor and her blood sugar was at a 150. She has also lost 50 lbs with the help of Plexus.

nbhouse6
nbhouse6 2014-04-24 18:37:08 -0500 Report

No there hasn't been an independent peer reviewed study. Just one clinical study that you can find here http://www.plexusworldwide.com/science/ I'm not trying to sell anything. I'm trying to help people learn about something that could possibly change your lifestyle. There is a 60 day money back guarantee on all products. So you could try it out, see if it helps you, if not get your money back. The point is to educate everyone on something that is new that a lot of people may not have heard of yet.

jayabee52
jayabee52 2014-04-24 19:27:48 -0500 Report

"I'm not trying to sell anything. I'm trying to help people learn about something that could possibly change your lifestyle" spoken like a true MLM salesperson .

I have heard a lot of MLM sales pitches over the years i've been here on DC and the majority eventually use that line when pressed on their attempted sales. And your statement "The point is to educate everyone on something that is new that a lot of people may not have heard of yet". is belied by the fact that when I do a search of DC for plexus I find posts going back 4 yrs ago mentioning this product. I suspect there were a lot more but the salespeople kept violating the TOU and kept getting removed from the site.

We've had PLENTY of opprtunities to learn of this product. I expect there will be many more attempts to "educate" (sell to) us

NCjohnboy
NCjohnboy 2014-06-07 07:44:59 -0500 Report

Dude—

You seem to be an angry person with an awfully large axe to grind here. Saw one of your replies wherein you said anyone who even suggested Plexus Slim could HELP—not CURE, but HELP—in any way was just an attempt by that person to take money from people that could be better used in other ways.

I guess kind of like Bayer makes money from Aspirin sales, or J&J makes money from band-aid sales, eh?

Those are products which certainly could be HELPFUL in certain scenarios, but which at the same time, are NOT essential.

I don't run for the Tylenol, aspirin or anything else when I have a headache. It just eventually goes away, because I CHOOSE to spend my money on other things, just as some people may CHOOSE to spend money on the Plexus Slim.

God Bless our freedoms to choose here in the USA (cue Kate Smith here), rather than be subject to your edicts, which are apparently more biased in a negative way than anyone's positive impressions of the Plexus Slim product.

Consider this FACT, from a NYT piece back in 2010 (November 12 ot be precise), which anyone here can easily corroborate:

"Diabetes patients spend an average of $6,000 annually on costs for treating their disease, according to a recent survey conducted by Consumer Reports Health. That figure includes monitoring supplies, medicines, doctor visits, annual eye exams and other routine costs."

And as stated, those are FOUR YEAR OLD numbers. The cost has undoubtedly risen since then.

The Plexus Slim does run about $100 monthly. It will NOT cure, or even help, everyone who is diabetic, or pre-diabetic.

By my math, that is a POTENTIAL difference of $4800 that could be saved in a best case scenario, if Plexus Slim alone eliminated every other tx regimen for an individual.

But let's say that doesn't happen, but because of the Plexus Slim, the person is able to reduce other regimens associated with their tx, and winds up spending only $4000, instead of $6,000, in one year, including the $1200 or so on the Plexus Slim?

What is SO bad about someone improving their health, and saving money—albeit in a way that you obviously don't like? When did POTUS abdicate and leave you in charge? I must have missed that "Breaking News" story on CNN.

And what is your beef with somebody merely suggesting something that COULD help somebody else, even if you don't like what they say?

I was an EMT for many years, and when I responded to a call and administered any med as a tx to a patient, it was entirely possible that the same dosage of the exact same medication could spawn entirely DIFFERENT reactions from one patient to the next.

So that is why saying ANY product or medication is a sure-fire cure for ANYTHING isn't responsible. But that is NOT what I have read here.

Nobody I have seen has said Plexus Slim is a "cure all". Only that it has helped certain people, in certain situations.

As an EMT, the same meds, administered the exact same way, in the exact same dosage, to different people COULD produce wildly different outcomes, based on a myriad of factors over which I had ZERO control. By training, I knew what the meds I had at my disposal to give someone SHOULD do.

But if one person was high on meth, or drunk, or if you had taken Viagra but called me for chest pains, and I gave you the same dose of nitro I gave my last patient who was not on Viagra, all bets were off.

In the latter scenario, nitro to a patient who had taken viagra could have resulted in asystole—basically, killed you as a consequence of the Viagra and nitro working in concert to lower your BP, and heart rate, to a level such that life couldn't be sustained.

So your blanket condemnation of anyone who has the audacity, in your exalted opinion, to suggest that Plexus Slim in particular MAY be helpful, could be said to be more ignorant that the person who is merely relaying their own results, or the results of somebody they know, which just happen to be positive in this respect.

And since you rule the universe, you can't possibly allow a positive impression of Plexus.

So, my suggestion is to lighten up, and consider for just a nanosecond that it IS possible that not every single person who has expressed a positive impression of Plexus Slim, is doing so with any nefarious, or self-serving intent.

I am an Ambassador, but I would excoriate you this way no matter what.

My daughter is PDD/NOS on the autistic spectrum. Many parents have chosen to medicate their kids in some way, or give them any of a myriad of supplements, to help their kids.

Personally, I don't think any of those things work to treat or improve autism in any way. I prefer to use non-medical interventions with my daughter, basically behavioral therapy.

But I would not reveal myself to be so ignorant as to issue a broad-scale rebuke of anyone who happened to tell me that they got good results from Fish Oil, or Gummi Bears, or anything else.

If it works for them, and their kid, FANTASTIC.

You should do the same. Live and let live, and go worry about your own issues, rather than condemning others for their choices.

jayabee52
jayabee52 2014-06-07 10:30:48 -0700 Report

Johnboy, thanks for the more "education". I am not an angry person. nor do I condemn others due to their choices.

I DO suggest that folks not spend the money on such a product, but if they choose to try it I don't berate them (or to use your term "excoriate" them)

And since you are an Ambassador you have a vested interest in trying to get me to back down. I wouldn't be surprised if you were sent here by your organization to get me to do just that .

You throw a lot ot "mud" up against the barn door to see if any of it sticks. you use a lot of rhetorical arguments against me to try to shake me. I studied philoshophy in college and in grad school and I see through your logical fallacies.

My advice to you in rerurn is don't make assumptions about my motives for doing what I do. I would have been perfectly happy minding my own business and answering other discussions about Diabetes, but when attacked I do respond, especially when the attack is unwarranted and so full of fallacious assertions.

I expect more attacks from you or others like you all in the spirit of educatiing me and us.

BTW I am not the ONLY person who sees through the flim-flam

It is my usual custom to pray "God's best to you and yours". and I pray the same thing for you and your family since I bear you or your family no ill will.

NCjohnboy
NCjohnboy 2014-06-07 12:30:52 -0700 Report

So what's next on your list of "conspiracy theories"?

Aliens living at Area 51?

A mystery shooter on the grassy knoll?

Someone sabotaging the AC in San Antonio Thursday night to cook LeBron James?

Actually, I might buy the latter, before the former two. But I digress.

Personally, I have had success with the Plexus Slim. I lost 8 lbs. in my 1st 30 days, and my BP was 110/72 at a routine doc visit that took place during my 3rd week on the product.

I was never hypertensive, but my BP was never THAT low. And the only change I made was taking the Slim.

So for me, it worked. And for other people who posted here, it may have worked for them, or others they know.

Why does that bother yo so much for people to simply say they have had good results with Plexus?

And as stated, for anyone who buys it, and who isn't happy with their results, there is a 60-day MBG. So call, and get your money back if that is the case.

Look, I'm not here to castigate you, or anyone else, irrespective of the narrow minded nature of any comments.

Free speech is wonderful (cue Lee Greenwood).

And yeah, I will concede there are a few self-serving morons in ANY profession, with ANY company. And that is what it seems as if you ran into—one or two "bad apples", and now you feel a compulsion to insult anyone who dares to differ with your opinion, which is clearly jaded by your experience.

I've worked in TV, radio, media sales, and other industries, and there were a few select morons almost everywhere who could, or did, ruin the image/reputation of the company for the masses.

My dad spent 30+ years in law enforcement, and Lord knows there were idiots among his ranks who certainly did ruin things in various ways for the 99.5 % of them who just strapped on the badge and gun, went to work everyday, and did things the right way.

I saw a guy at roll call draw down and aim his Glock at a phone that was ringing off the hook (it was an admin line, on a Saturday, and not 911). Good thing his Lt.. told him to holster it, or he may have unloaded his clip right there into the PBX system. That guy absolutely was one bag of Fritos short of a picnic.

Same is true of Plexus Worldwide, or any similar network marketing business.

There are a few out there who will stop at nothing to make a buck, and make all kinds of crazy claims. But to indict the many for the sins of a few, as you are doing, is just flat out ignorant.

Feel free to wear it on your sleeve, but my guess is you would be offended if anyone implied you were ignorant.

So why act that way by saying everyone who promotes or uses a product is wrong, or evil, just because you personally don't like it?

I don't like sushi, since where I come from in Miami, we call that "bait", and put it on the end of a hook to catch a REAL fish.

But I don't condemn my friends who think it's the best thing since sliced goldfish.

You're entitled to your opinion, just as we all are. I'm just saying you'd likely be offended if anyone took the same tack that you have taken regarding Plexus Slim, about a product you happen to use or like.

Basically, "do unto others", as the biblical passage goes.

But to suggest I was "dis

jayabee52
jayabee52 2014-06-07 14:15:44 -0700 Report

Johnboy,
Interesting that you make the SAME logical fallacies again in this posting as you did in your previous.

Again you attributed to me attitudes and ideas which are not mine.

To write "You're entitled to your opinion, just as we all are. I'm just saying you'd likely be offended if anyone took the same tack that you have taken regarding Plexus Slim, about a product you happen to use or like." Actually to the contrary. The only problem with someone having a negative opinion about a product (even if I used or liked it) would only be if I had some "skin in the game". That is, if I was trying to sell the product as are you with PS.

But to underscore how little you understand me I do want to point out what you said was incorrect when you wrote: "But to indict the many for the sins of a few, as you are doing, is just flat out ignorant." and then you added: " . . . but my guess is you would be offended if anyone implied you were ignorant." How little you understand or know me. For the longest time I worked in a profession where one couldn't be easily offended, or they wouldn't make it into that profession or wouldn't last long in it.

That ability to not be offended has continued in my current life and attitude.

To me your, claims to use your words: "Why does that bother yo so much for people to simply say they have had good results with Plexus?"

I'm not bothered, by others' claims of good results from PS it is just that those are anecdotal stories and not hard peer-reviewed science.

NCjohnboy
NCjohnboy 2014-06-07 18:02:03 -0700 Report

Keep looking if "peer reviewed science" is your goal. There is little to none of that for most "neutraceuticals" or supplements—only personal experiences. FDA doesn't get into this game. As is the case with most governmental agencies, they can barely function as is, forget expanding into other realms.

You are correct—I don't know you, and nor do you know me.

What bothered me, and likely bothers others here, is the self-righteous indignation behind your incessant bloviating.

Everyone who doesn't share your opinion on this topic is apparently, wrong, evil, or a combination of both, in your opinion. As evidence to prove that, you absurdly suggested I was "dispatched" here by HQ. That's preposterous on its face, and reveals your misplaced narcissism.

Don't get me wrong. It would be great if there was hard evidence, backed by years and years of clinical trials, with products like Plexus Slim. But that is just not how they work.

So until that happens, all we have to go on is the first, second or even third hand stories of people who have used the product.

And if you're waiting for those clinical trials or peer-reviewed science to happen, you might still be waiting for California Chrome to win the Belmont.

I was bummed he didn't, as the Triple Crown curse now continues for another year.

jayabee52
jayabee52 2014-06-08 16:17:00 -0700 Report

Howdy again Johnboy
I am really flattered that you consider me such an important person in this discussion and on this website that you spend all this time and effort trying to change my mind. So I want to say thank you for valuing my opinion so highly.

James

nbhouse6
nbhouse6 2014-06-07 14:42:54 -0700 Report

Jayab is grounded to his roots. If he doesn't agree with something it's wrong. Jonboy as they say "NEXT!"

jayabee52
jayabee52 2014-04-26 21:53:26 -0700 Report

Again, this is an anecdotal story. Not an independent peer reviewed study.

Bobo is empassioned, but passion does not science make. And I have tried getting my money back from MLMs — I am still waiting.years later.

haoleboy
haoleboy 2014-04-24 16:39:49 -0500 Report

just another MLM "miracle cure". "Sharon Green's" story seems to get shared a lot on the internet.
Selling questionable products to people desperate to find cure.
shame on you.

dominickgallegos
dominickgallegos 2014-04-24 16:05:59 -0500 Report

Interesting that you found success with this product. Is it true that it costs about 85 a month or 80 for a reoccurring delivery?! Also how long do expect to be on it?!

jayabee52
jayabee52 2014-04-24 16:17:49 -0500 Report

it wasn't NB's story, it is "Sharon Greens [sic]" success story. It it was NB's story it might bear a little more weight, but Sharon Green to me might as well be anonymous. Notice that all these testimonials are 2nd or 3rd hand. I guess that way questions may not be asked since it is not first hand experience.

Plexus slim people have been trying to sell their wares on DC for years now. Other attempts may be found by queryiing the search engine on DC by typing the word Plexus into the search box and clicking the spyglass icon. I did that and found this where I sounded off on the subject ~ http://www.diabeticconnect.com/diabetes-discu...