Can anyone review Byetta?

John Crowley
By John CrowleyCA Latest Reply 2008-10-21 09:45:07 -0500
Started 2008-05-29 16:56:37 -0500

I noticed today that no one has reviewed Byetta in our Product Review section. Is there anyone on this site who can give a review of Byetta? I think it is a very intriguing product and would like to know how well it has worked.


36 replies

Avera
Avera 2008-10-21 09:45:07 -0500 Report

Just wondering if anyone has any new thoughts on this medication since it has received all the bad press? I tried it and it made me sick so I had to quit using it.

Bluebutterfly
Bluebutterfly 2008-10-13 09:42:08 -0500 Report

I was on Byetta for six months. I could not tell any difference in it. I was given Byetta in addition to glucophage and glyburide and my sugars were slightly high like 140 to 160.I was put on avandia it caused me to swell. I went to actos and finally Januvia I have been on three months and have actually lost eight pounds.So I did not like the Byetta . I paid 150.00 with insurance. The stuff is very expensive. Hope this helps.

daniel velazco
daniel velazco 2008-10-13 10:35:50 -0500 Report

My daughter lost weight but it did nothing for her numbers. We took her off of it and tomorrow we see the Doctor and see what else we can put her on.

azmisty
azmisty 2008-10-13 07:48:41 -0500 Report

I just started on Byetta yesterday so I can't comment on how well it works for me…but I sure have high hopes.

Although, I know that nausea is the main side effect…my Dr told me to take it immediately before eating and that should lessen or even eliminate the nausea.

Interestingly the reason that I can't take Metformin is that the nausea was so severe…that I asked to be taken off of it when I was first diagnosed and she put me on insulin immediately.

Misty

Muffet
Muffet 2008-10-13 12:33:30 -0500 Report

I had problems with Metformin when I first started it, too. But I stuck it out and in about 3 months, I had no more side effects. Byetta really bothered me for the first two months, but my blood sugar really lowered — rarely above 120s anymore and I'm down into the 90s part of most days. Interesting how it works for some and not others.

Carolyn - 23539
Carolyn - 23539 2008-09-30 10:46:21 -0500 Report

I have taken Byetta for 2 and a half years and it has worked great for me I am not as hungry. I lost weight at first but now my wieght loss has platued. I have not noticed any side effects while taking it.

msmuffet
msmuffet 2008-09-25 07:18:26 -0500 Report

to be honest john im on it and it was good for weight loss but doesnt help my sugars much

Carolyn - 23539
Carolyn - 23539 2008-09-30 10:48:01 -0500 Report

How much weight have you lost…I really can't tell if my weight was due to starting the Byetta or getting a divorce…less stress you know.

angelalouise
angelalouise 2008-09-13 12:56:53 -0500 Report

thank you for asking this question. as my doctor wants me to go on Byette just to lose weight. after reading all the comments, i think not. again thank you

greengables
greengables 2008-08-29 14:44:50 -0500 Report

Recently Byetta was in the news saying that the FDA has announced that Byetta was the cause of some deaths. Anyone else have any thoughts?

Muffet
Muffet 2008-08-30 06:21:40 -0500 Report

I have been on Byetta 4 months and my A1C has gone from 8.2 to 6.3. I have lost some weight. I think about 20 lbs. I did some reading on pancreatitus, which is what supposedly caused the deaths of two people who were using Byetta. I discussed with my dr. this week and she said they are still discussing as both of the people had other issues going on at the same time that might have caused the deaths. My last check-up was 3 days ago and my liver enzymes are normal (first time in 3 years), my cholesteral is 143 and doing well. Byetta does make me eat less, especially at first. Then, it can become a habit like anything else. I still had ice cream several times in the last 4 months and my husband and I split a candy bar twice, so I don't feel deprived. You definitely have to eat after an injection. My dietician said to eat at least 250 calories that includes 30 grams of carbs. I didn't do that one night and I struggle with a blood sugar of 50 for about two hours. Scared me, so now I'm careful to eat protein and enough carbs. I also notice that if I eat sweets, my stomach gets upset and it just doesn't seem worth it anymore. I'm hoping that I can get my A1C even lower over the next 3 months.

John Crowley
John CrowleyCA 2008-09-03 02:33:23 -0500 Report

It's important to understand that the FDA didn't say Byetta caused pancreatitis. They simply issued a warning that some people who were taking byetta did contract pancreatitis (which is very dangerous and fatal in many cases) and died. We don't have the research yet (though I'm sure it's under way) to see if Byetta is connected in any way to the pancreatitis and further diabetics tend to be more prone to contract pancreatitis.

Now having said all that, it is definitely cause for concern. But realize that many of the news stories made it sound like Byetta is causing these deaths. We simply don't have enough information yet to say one way or the other. As with most things, it's important to discuss with your doctor the risks and benefits of any medication so that you can make an informed decision about what's right for you.

kdroberts
kdroberts 2008-09-03 03:14:22 -0500 Report

To add to John's response. There have been 30 cases of pancreatitis linked to byetta. 27 of those cases were in people who had one or more other risk factors, so that leaves 3 cases that byetta maybe the main cause, even though being diabetic is a risk factor in itself. Add in that nearly 3/4 of a million people take byetta and I would be very cautious in jumping on the media bandwagon. To put it in perspective, the cases that byetta may have caused are 0.0004% of the total betta users. Something to keep an eye on, not something to panic about just yet.

daniel velazco
daniel velazco 2008-09-11 09:46:07 -0500 Report

AS SOME OF YOU KNOW MY DAUGHTE IS ON BYETTA. YESTERDAY SHE HAD AN APPOINTMENT WITH HER ENDO AND HE BROUGHTNUP BYETTA.
HE SAID THAT THERE HAS BEN PEOPLE DIAGNOISED WITH PANCREATITIS AND THAT TERE HAVE BEEN SOME DEATHS WITH THIS MEDICATION. HE TOLD MY WIFE AND I THAT IF SHE SHOULD DEVELOPE ANY OF THE SYMTOMS
OF PANCREATITIS WE SHOULD TAKE HER OFF THE MEDICATION RIGHT AWAY AND TAKE HER TO THE EMERGANCY ROOM RIGHT AWAY. SO WE ARE KEEPING A VERY CLOSE EYE ON HER TO MAKE SURE SHE IS OK.

angelalouise
angelalouise 2008-09-13 12:52:26 -0500 Report

my doctor wants me to go on byetta. after reading all these comments, i don't think so. he is leaving it up to me. he said i should "do my homework" and read up on it. i say no.

Carolyn - 23539
Carolyn - 23539 2008-09-30 10:52:45 -0500 Report

That is the information my doctor gave me to concerning Byetta…remember there also risk factors when taking Tylenol…especially if you drink alchol regularly

Carolyn - 23539
Carolyn - 23539 2008-09-30 10:52:45 -0500 Report

That is the information my doctor gave me to concerning Byetta…remember there also risk factors when taking Tylenol…especially if you drink alchol regularly

bricksee
bricksee 2008-08-28 10:28:20 -0500 Report

I was considering Byetta, with my PCP's approval. In a general discussion recently with my pulmonologist happened to mention this to him, and his response seemed to be that yes, you will lose weight because Byetta's main function is to make you feel nauseated and you will eat less.

kdroberts
kdroberts 2008-09-03 03:20:39 -0500 Report

Byetta's main function is not to make you feel nauseous so you eat less!

It's main function is to increase the amount of a hormone that communicates with the liver and pancreas so the pancreas releases more insulin and the liver releases less glucose when blood sugar is high and the pancreas releases less insulin when blood sugar is lower. It also slows the time food leaves the stomach and this combined with the other hormones you have may make you have less of an appetite. Nausea is an unwanted side effect, not a primary function.

Linds
Linds 2008-08-19 05:44:02 -0500 Report

I read in the paper today that 2 people died from using Byetta. It affects something, and has caused several deaths. I was on it, and lost 30 lbs in 2 months. I went into emergency due to high potassium. No one could figure out why it happened, but my Dr. thinks it was the Byetta

Jeanarie
Jeanarie 2008-08-19 06:55:10 -0500 Report

I used Byetta for a while. So did my boss. His doctor told him it only really helps for about 2-3 months for weight loss and took him off it after that.
I did not like it. I used it twice a day and it made me vomit the entire time I used it. I don't know if it did that to any others but my experience was terrible and will not take it any more.

Luly
Luly 2008-06-04 18:46:27 -0500 Report

Hi;I had used Byetta for 2 1/2 years,it did help with my sugar levels and help me with weight loss, not so much but it was good,I was taking metformin and insuline at bed time with it,I had no side effects from it in the beginnig of my threatment at all.I miss taking it but after all this time of using it I started having problems with my stomach and bowel movements, I stopped using Byetta for 3 months now,and I have gain some weight again.I really miss it a lot. my sugars are not control now as they where before. I also take other medications that bring my levels high. I do recomend Byetta is a great medication to try.Is good for some people bad for other ones.

Dancehawk
Dancehawk 2008-06-04 16:44:43 -0500 Report

I love it, I was on Avandia but it scared me because of the deaths related to it.
So my doctor put me on Byeeta, it is a shot you do 2 times a day you start out on 5 mcg then after 30 days you go to 10.

personaly 10mcg 2 times a day was to strong for me I had a hard time holding my sugar at 80 and felt really sick,
so they put me back on 5 I have energy, been loosing weight, I feel great no side effects. THe first 3 days your going to be nausias (spelling)
It is expensive but if you have ins with a 20 dollor co pay on meds you ll be ok.
and I do know from my doctor to get ins to pay you must be taking another drug like metaphorm or avandia, it is concidered a secoundary drug. I forget the term she used.
You take the shot wait as close to a hour as yo can and eat but you have to eat, that is a must.

heres from there site
When BYETTA is used with a medicine that contains a sulfonylurea, hypoglycemia (low blood sugar) is a possible side effect. The dose of your sulfonylurea medicine may need to be reduced while you use BYETTA.
Other common side effects with BYETTA include nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, dizziness, headache, feeling jittery, and acid stomach. Nausea is most common when first starting BYETTA, but decreases over time in most patients.
If you experience the following severe and persistent symptoms (alone or in combination): abdominal pain, nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea, contact your healthcare provider because they could be signs of serious medical conditions.
BYETTA may reduce your appetite, the amount of food you eat, and your weight. No changes in your BYETTA dose are needed for these side effects.
These are not all the possible side effects from use of BYETTA. Talk to your healthcare provider about any side effect that bothers you or that does not go away.
I like it and will stay on it till i get AC1 to a 4 I hope then stop meds, fingers crossed

http://www.byetta.com/patient/byetta_safety_i...

dance

bricksee
bricksee 2008-06-14 04:16:10 -0500 Report

My doctor had, at one time, mentioned a medication that I could take, but it came as a shot (not insulin). I declined, but am thinking about asking again after reading everyone's comments.

bucky
bucky 2008-06-04 16:21:13 -0500 Report

i take it 10 units a day i have found that it has really help my other 2 incelin injections that i take. what it does is helps them work better almost like a team of 3 ( for me anyways). there have been days that i havent taken it an have noticed a big difference in my sugers. i hope this answers your question??

John Crowley
John CrowleyCA 2008-06-03 05:41:50 -0500 Report

Morris and Misery,

Would you be willing to add your review to our Product Review section? I think your comments will get buried here in the discussion section. If you add a product review, it will be available to all who are looking for info about Byetta.

Thanks for contributing!

morris.js
morris.js 2008-06-01 22:59:09 -0500 Report

I persoanly used Byetta for about 4 months. I have not taken it for about the last 4 months, (with my doctors ok), and have not noticed any increase in weight or sugar levels. I started with 5mcg twice a day, then went to 10mcg 2 times a day. I did not have any side effects, but I don't ever seem to have side effects from any medications. It did not seem to do anything to help my blood sugar levels. As far as helping with food cravings, I eat 5 or 6 small meals a day, so that was not an issue to begin with.
Having said all that, I have 3 friends who use it, and all have reported having had success with it. All 3 have lost weight slowly, and seem to have better control of their sugar levels.
I hope this helps.

Goddess
Goddess 2008-06-01 18:16:08 -0500 Report

I can because I take it. I have lost 16 lbs. and my blood sugars are a lot better. I went from about 367 to 153 after taking a shot an hour ago. It seems to help me the best of the meds I'm on. I take Glipizide 20mg 2 times a day , Byetta 5mcg twice a day and Januvia 100mg once a day. My average sugars without eating are around 140. Does anyone have any suggestions as what I should do? My doctor knows all of this plus the fact that I have a hard time swallowing. I also have gastroparesis. She sent me to a speech pathologist and he told me to drink 2 glasses of sugar free carnation instant breakfast made with skim milk a day. I'm sorry I got off of the main topic. I apologize.

Dancehawk
Dancehawk 2008-06-04 16:49:56 -0500 Report

Are you eating 3/4 of your meal of veggies?
also are you in pain or have a infection?
my brother is a diabetic and has a crushed spine he is in pain all the time and his sugar is always high it is related to the pain he is in.
Are you exercizing? try eating 6 small meals mostly veggies, whole wheat, brown rice very little red meat, fish, chicken, fruit nuts cottage cheeses,
my tummy feels better I am loosing weight and really feeling like my old self again.

let us know hun.
dance

Ginetteb
Ginetteb 2008-06-01 02:56:34 -0500 Report

Here is what I found on-line for Byetta.
It's quite interesting. It's a long article, but it's complete (I think)
Here goes:
Incretin mimetics for type 2 diabetesFrom HealthwiseExamplesBrand Name: ByettaChemical Name: exenatideExenatide is the first of a new type of medicines called incretin mimetics. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approved exenatide to treat people with type 2 diabetes who have not been able to control their blood sugar levels with oral medicines. It is given as a shot 2 times a day, before morning and evening meals. How It Works: Incretin mimetics act like (mimic) the natural hormones in your body that lower blood sugar. These hormones are called incretins. Exenatide:·a)Allows your pancreas to release insulin. This drug lowers blood sugar levels only when they rise too high. · b)Prevents the pancreas from giving out glucagon. Glucagon is a hormone that causes the liver to release its stored sugar into the bloodstream. ·Helps to slow the rate at which your stomach empties after eating. This may make you feel less hungry and more satisfied after a meal. Why It Is Used Exenatide can be used when metformin or sulfonylurea drugs are not working to control blood sugar. You may take exenatide by itself or with these oral drugs. You most likely will not use exenatide if you are using insulin. How Well It Works: Early studies showed that exenatide lowered blood sugar levels both before and after eating. 1:Studies also showed that people who added exenatide to their treatment with some oral medicines had lower hemoglobin A1c (HbA1c) levels than they did before they added exenatide to their treatment. 2, 3, 4 HbA1c is a measure of how well blood sugar levels have remained within a normal or near-normal range over the previous 2 to 3 months.Side Effects: The most common side effects of exenatide are nausea and diarrhea. Nausea is usually worse during the first few weeks of treatment and gets better over time.4, 2. Taking exenatide with a sulfonylurea drug may cause mild to moderate low blood sugar (hypoglycemia). If you take both drugs, you may need to take a lower dose of the sulfonylurea to prevent low blood sugar. However, low blood sugar is not a side effect when exenatide is taken with metformin.(2) Exenatide does not cause weight gain. Sometimes people who take exenatide lose weight.(3) People with severe kidney disease should not take exenatide.See Drug Reference for a full list of side effects. (Drug Reference is not available in all systems.)What To Think About: Before injecting exenatide, talk to your doctor about other medicines you are taking. Exenatide may affect how other medicines are absorbed into your system. If you are pregnant or want to become pregnant, talk with your doctor before you take exenatide. He or she may recommend that you take another drug, since the safety of exenatide during pregnancy has not been studied in humans. Complete the new medication information form (PDF)(What is a PDF document?) to help you understand this medication. ReferencesCitations1. Exenatide (Byetta) for type 2 diabetes. (2005). Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics, 47(1210): 45–46. 2. Buse JB, et al. (2004). Effects of exenatide (exendin-4) on glycemic control over 30 weeks in sulfonylurea-treated patients with type 2 diabetes. Diabetes Care, 27(11): 2628–2635. 3. Kendall DM, et al. (2005). Effects of exenatide (exendin-4) on glycemic control over 30 weeks in patients with type 2 diabetes treated with metformin and a sulfonylurea. Diabetes Care, 28(5): 1083–1091. DeFronzo RA, et al. (2005). Effects of exenatide (exendin-4) on glycemic control and weight over 30 weeks in metformin-treated patients with type 2 diabetes. Diabetes Care, 28(5): 1092–1100.

I found this article at the following e-mail address:
http://health.msn.com/health-topics/diabetes/...

I hope this helps.

Linds
Linds 2008-06-01 02:33:41 -0500 Report

I used Byetta for 3 months. It made my stomach upset, and made me lose 20 lbs in 2 months time. I did not notice it helping the blood sugar a lot, but if you want to lose weight it is a commom side effect of the drug

jupton1
jupton1 2008-05-30 01:06:28 -0500 Report

Byetta seems like a realy safe product.The warning side efect wasnt to bad at all..This med can also cut back on food cravings,I dont take this med but I was impressed on its track record..John