Insulin, Whats Your Experience and or Your Opinion?

By jigsaw Latest Reply 2013-12-29 10:55:54 -0600
Started 2013-12-11 07:58:09 -0600

I was able to control my diabetes with diet and exercise for about 7 years. The next 10 years I was introduced to various oral diabetic meds. Although I was able to manage my blood glucose successfully with the help of various meds, they eventually stopped working, or caused extreme side effects that were unbearable. Currently, and for the last couple of years, I have been on insulin, and with excellent results so far. My doctors claim that the only serious side effects are weight gain, and potential blood glucose lows. I have read about a few other potential side effects, but the doctors I have asked, all agree that they are either not likely, or simply not true.
So, even though I have done quite a bit of research on the subject, I am very interested in knowing the opinions of others, as well as their experience while taking insulin.
Is the potential for weight gain and blood glucose lows the only reason for many doctors prescribing insulin only as a last resort?

Tags: insulin

22 replies

MoeGig 2013-12-14 09:21:27 -0600 Report

As a Type 1, I've been on insulin since 1965, and think it's the most natural solution to controlling your A1c. My dad is T2 and tried all kinds of drugs to control his sugar, but a simple dose of Lantus every morning stabilized him immediately…he's now 98. The only down side is avoiding extreme lows…and to do that I test often (4-5) times/day, and, on often, at 2am. Good luck.

jigsaw 2013-12-14 19:11:13 -0600 Report

I find your reply to include extremely encouraging info. It is always a relief, to hear from those that have long term experience. I guess you could say it's an excellent form of validation!

Glucerna 2013-12-12 18:35:16 -0600 Report

There's actually an algorithm to follow when prescribing medications, including insulin, for T2. You can read the entire report here: Basically, the use of insulin or other medications depends on a variety of factors, including A1c, overall health status, weight, activity level, etc. Lifestyle changes remain the cornerstone of any type of treatment. I'm glad you are interested in finding out more about insulin and are having conversations with your doctor about the best type of treatment in your particular case. ~Lynn @Glucerna

jigsaw 2013-12-13 06:10:08 -0600 Report

Interesting and informative link. Definintely clarifies the protocol that appears to be followed by the endos that I have seen.
Actually, I insisted that my endo prescribe insulin against his initial opinion. There were complications that I experienced that caused me to be suspicious of the oral meds that I was taking. While on Metformin, I experienced excruciating cramps, and constipation. Three primary care physicians, two endos, and a PA all believed that Metformin was not the problem. One doctor suspected that gastroparesis was a possibility. I was given all types of possible causes, but they were nothing but wild guesses. Finally I convinced my endo to prescribe insulin. Within seven days, the cramps and constipation were completely gone. That was close to two years ago, and I have been fine ever since. Sometimes it pays to listen to your body, and common sense. I was exercising for 1 to two hours everyday, uilizing a food plan as recommended by registered dieticians and diabetes educators. My a1c was never higher than 6.2 during the 20 years that I have had diabetes. The medical explanations that my doctors gave, didn't seem to fit the circumstances. Well, guess who had the correct answer? T'was the little ole winemaker me! I was very disappointed that so many doctors had it wrong. Another reason why I feel strongly about being pro-active with ones own health.

Glucerna 2013-12-13 15:06:19 -0600 Report

I'm glad you found the link helpful. Definitely continue to be proactive with your health - it's working really well for you. ~Lynn @Glucerna

msann 2013-12-12 06:42:37 -0600 Report

Well I gained a lot of weight up to 345eight years ago but now I weigh 242 long road I retired last August I excercise every day feel so much better to me being my bs was high but now I take 35 at nite 24 in the am each person is different

Jude1952 2013-12-29 10:55:54 -0600 Report

Msann thank you I have never known anyone else amount of insulin I take 22 am and 22 pm and feel like I fail it. I just don't know what to do.

jigsaw 2013-12-12 07:28:49 -0600 Report

It's great to know that you were able to lose weight. I congratulate you on your success! I know it takes effort, work, and determination. You are living proof that it can be done while on insulin.

dagger1234 2013-12-11 18:20:20 -0600 Report

I was told if my blood sugar levels don't go down. I'm going to need to take insulin each time I eat. I really do hope that isn't the case but anything is worth doing to get better. My blood sugar level just sky rocketed today for no reason. Maybe cuz I ate a banana and they have a lot of sugar..ahh

jigsaw 2013-12-12 07:50:36 -0600 Report

Bananas are off the food list for me! Like jayabee, they spike my blood sugar also.
For many of us with diabetes, gaining control of our blood sugar is a matter of getting good accurate info. A healthy food plan is extremely important. Taking medication when necessary, and exercise are all a part of the necessary plan for success. Each individual needs to learn the correct balance of these three ingredients to achieve success with their personal mgmt. Including experts such as doctors and dieticians can make a great difference. It can appear tricky at first, but I personally have never met a person that didn't accomplish good results with accurate info, effort and determination.

jayabee52 2013-12-12 06:21:58 -0600 Report

yep the banana might have a lot to do with it. Instead of bananas you might wish to substitute berries for a fruit selection. I like frozen blueberries or frozen strawberries. I let them thaw just a wee bit and they are every bit as good as fresh IMHO. They are especially refreshing during the heat of summer. I buy a 3 lb bag and they don't go bad fast like the fresh berries.
I haven't eaten a banana in several years because of their high glycemic load which raises my BG levels. Some folks seem to be able to get away with eating bananas but they are few who can and not get spiked.

BJR62 2013-12-12 23:32:57 -0600 Report

I eat a banana almost every day because of my low potassium levels,also have to take a potassium supplement daily,I have never seen a BG spike?Never knew bananas were high glycemic !?

jigsaw 2013-12-13 05:28:03 -0600 Report

Bananas were one of my favorite fruits! I wish I could eat them without a spike. I am extremely sensitive to them. I guess in a sense, you are lucky. Seems like a delicious way to keep your potassium levels up.

kimfing 2013-12-11 16:34:11 -0600 Report

I just started insulin three months ago and experiencing weight loss still. My husband has been on insulin for 33+ years and same thing. We do watch what we eat and exercise daily. My educator says the wieght gain uf any could be minimal like six pounds

jdenton360 2013-12-11 20:24:29 -0600 Report

I've been on insulin for 3 years now and I'm finding it difficult to control my weight even with exercise and diet :(

jigsaw 2013-12-12 09:02:53 -0600 Report

I agree that it can be difficult. I'm sure that it is more difficult for some than it is for others. Obviously, metabolism, time constraints, and a host of other reasons can come into play. The good news is, all these reasons can be overcome with determination. I am constantly learning new bits and pieces of helpful info for the 20 years that I've had diabetes. Taking the correct measures to successfully manage diabetes does get easier with time and a positive attitude. It can actually become a habit, and even a way of life. Keep at it and I bet you will eventually find that it gets easier.

kimfing 2013-12-11 20:44:22 -0600 Report

Im sorry to hear that. I walk 90% of my days and carry heavy things. My insulin to carb ratio is low too. Maybe that's why.

jdenton360 2013-12-11 21:21:49 -0600 Report


Yeah that definitely could be the difference. I sit all day & exercise once a day for 30 to 60 mins. That's quite a difference!

jigsaw 2013-12-13 17:03:54 -0600 Report

One thing that definitely works is: burn more calories then you take in, and you cannot gain weight. I know it's tough to do, but I work hard at it and stay on top of the matter. If I see the weight creeping up, I cut down on my food consumption, or I increase my exercise. Sometimes I do both. Think about it, if we want to stay healthy, what choice do we really have?

jigsaw 2013-12-11 18:06:19 -0600 Report

That is very encouraging info! 33 years on insulin, tells me quite a bit! Apparently, the both of you have stayed well informed, and taken the additional necessary steps to manage your diabetes. Keep up the success, and thanks for sharing some terrific info.

2013-12-11 14:29:54 -0600 Report

My last pay check was $9500
working 12 hours a week online. My sisters friend has been averaging 15k for
months now and she works about 20 hours a week. I can't believe how easy it was once I tried it out.
This is what I do,

Next Discussion: Girls »