What are your opinions on the "Food Lovers Diet"

By kaiya2465 Latest Reply 2012-10-03 06:24:31 -0500
Started 2012-08-08 13:44:53 -0500

I keep seeing this advertisement on tv & am curious on others opinions, if you have also seen the ad???????


34 replies

Nick1962 2012-08-09 09:24:26 -0500 Report

I can see how this program could be beneficial or desirable to some. Some folks need a structure, a plan, or a given direction to follow in everything they do. I can cook a meal without cracking a cookbook, others have to follow a recipe. Like any diet this is a structure or training program for those folks to follow. My issues with it (cost aside), is that it appeals to one’s sense of comfort by stating you can eat anything you want, and if you’re overweight, or have diabetes, that’s pretty much what you want to hear right? The concept does have some merit. I’ve found “combinations” to make some difference in my BG reactions, but this would be way too confusing for me to do all the time and I’d get tired of it pretty quick.
Also, as I’ve said before, something like this isn’t “”portable”. If you go on vacation, you may not have the foods available to make this work. You couldn’t accept a last minute lunch invitation with a friend without screwing up the plan.
Femaletrucker’s right, there really is only one way to diet correctly, whether it’s for diabetic control or weight control, and that’s just plain exercise and not putting stuff in your mouth that negates your goals. I know, easier said than done, but sometimes instead of following a recipe, you need to learn to write your own.

jayabee52 2012-08-08 17:05:29 -0500 Report

Here is the opinion of a reviewer of weight loss plans and suppeiments ~ http://www.dietspotlight.com/food-lovers-diet...

There is also an article on LIVESTRONG which causes me to wonder which one of the two plans you mean. See the article here ~ http://www.livestrong.com/article/479916-what...

So it depends on which one you mean by "Food lovers diet". (I prefer the one which is free, of course)

femaletrucker 2012-08-08 17:14:15 -0500 Report

How does the old saying go? No pain, no gain? The old fashion way works the best. This is a waste of money. It said in the article you still have to exercise and eat right. So why add this stuff to it? Im down 28 lbs now. Its slow, but im eating healthy and exercising. If you loose fast, you can put it back on fast. Did you gain the weight as fast as you want to loose it? NO! So be sensible, eat right, and stop to think before you put something in your mouth. Think about it first, look at the food, and figure out if you really need it, are you hungry, or is it just pure temptation? Then when you eat it, it will be for the right reasons.

jayabee52 2012-08-08 17:24:40 -0500 Report

Thanks for that femaletrucker

CONGRATULATIONS on you 28 lb loss!

on a side note I have been told by my son that my Ex just got her CDL and plans to drive big rigs cross country with her new hubby. She's 58 now and he is 63 (i believe)

She trained to be a teacher for the Hearing Impaired and had just gotten her masters degree in education last year. in 2002 she had a 5 way bypass, and I really don't think she'll do well with that lifestyle. But she's no longer my wife and I guess whatever she does is up to her.

femaletrucker 2012-08-08 18:44:50 -0500 Report

Well, I can tell you this, there is alot of stress involved in this job. I've been at it for 18 years, and it is NOT just about holding a steering wheel. You will be pushed by your dispatcher (im my own dispatcher and pick my own loads because I couldn't deal with that), and they will run a team to death. So tell her to get ready. I run for revenue, they are going to run for miles…like to the tune of 6400 or more per week. Thats alot of stress trying to stay awake and watch traffic. Then dealing with pick up and deliveries, getting lost in a big city, bad neighborhoods, no parking areas when you need to pull over, etc… Its not just about touring the country side. Oh yea, then the showers are kinda nasty in some places (a bring a spray bottle with rubbing alcohol wherever i go)… Tell her I said, "Good Luck"…hope she makes it. But get ready. And the winters are terrible thru Wyoming!! Thanks for the weight loss thumbs up!! Im feeling good. Tomorrow morning I go to get my blood test and to see if my pancreas is functioning any better since I lost the weight…also what my A1C number is since ive been walking and running. I always write a book don't I? LOL

jayabee52 2012-08-08 19:14:20 -0500 Report

I suspected as much. I doubt that she'll be able to take the pressures involved. But she is making her bed and will have to lie in it. I rarely talk to her directly, but may email your insights to my son and he'll decide whether or not to pass it on.

I tend to write a lot also. Diharreah (sp) of the Keyboard, I guess

swlinda 2012-08-09 11:29:48 -0500 Report

It is diarrhea which is the hardest word I know to spell. I work in health care and had to learn how to spell it.

jayabee52 2012-08-09 12:35:32 -0500 Report

thanks Linda!

I am not accessing DC on my usual Google Chrome browser.which alerts me to misspellings. Microsoft Internet explorer doesn't do that but since this is not my computer, I cannot download Chrome.

swlinda 2012-08-10 06:50:49 -0500 Report

Not trying to be smart but just thought you might sometime need to know the right way to spell a very difficult word.

jayabee52 2012-08-10 15:41:34 -0500 Report

not a problem! No offense taken! It has been one of the words I try to avoid, (and the actual condition as well - not so easy since I have IBS).

I worked as a CNA in home health for 11 yrs but fortunately all we had to do was check the appropriate box on the check sheet which said "loose stools".

swlinda 2012-08-13 06:54:00 -0500 Report

Wish I that had been an option for us. I worked in home health for 9 years. It was definitely an experience.

jayabee52 2012-08-13 14:33:25 -0500 Report

Yes, Linda, it was QUITE an experience for me. MOSTLY good. In what capacity do/did you work in home health?

jayabee52 2012-08-13 14:41:22 -0500 Report

my 2nd wife "Jem" was a LCSW and serviced Phycical therapy clinics in SF bay area of CA.

As she was totally blind I acted as her reading assistant & researcher & driver during the last yr of her life. It was fascinating to me, and I loved being useful again.

swlinda 2012-08-13 14:42:50 -0500 Report

I know you did. Bet she was really good at her job. I work for the state now in guardianship and it has it own set of challenges.

jayabee52 2012-08-13 15:00:14 -0500 Report

yes, Linda, she'd been doing it for about 35 yrs and had up to 10 clinics for whom she consulted.

By the time I came into her life (about 3 yrs prior to her demise) she was down to 1 clinic because of clinic politics and a change in CA bureaucratic rules.

She had a lot of "medical challenges" (her words) for a number of years, but by the time I was in her life she had deteriorated so far she was only really able to handle 1 clinic, and most of that was long distance by fax machine, and occasional visits to the clinic (a drive of about 50 mi 1 way.)

She ended up giving up the clinic about 6 mos before her death because she was just too exhausted to do an adequate job of it in her estimation. She passed off the agency to another LCSW friend.

kaiya2465 2012-08-08 17:10:00 -0500 Report

James: Thank you, that sure gave me answers very quickly, that I was looking for. :)

jayabee52 2012-08-08 17:25:44 -0500 Report

you are most welcome. Have you made a decision on going with it or not?

kaiya2465 2012-08-08 17:37:02 -0500 Report

James, yes I did & the answer is no. Since I am not overweight the best thing for me is to not try & fix something that is not broken at this point. I will continue with what I have been doing… :)

Next Discussion: Stress effects Diabetes. »