Whole grains?

By granniesophie Latest Reply 2012-03-05 08:31:32 -0600
Started 2012-03-03 10:16:28 -0600

I am asking because I really don't know, and I want to understand, so here's one of those questions that James always says that there are no stupid or dumb questions except the ones that don't get asked!! :)
How do people who have issues with gluten and need gluten free things, or who have celiac disease get enough whole grains in their diets? If you can't eat wheat products, and other gluten things, what provides enough whole grains in the diet?

8 replies

Caroltoo 2012-03-04 21:39:00 -0600 Report

Here's some of my personal experience. I am gluten intolerant. I don't know if it is Celiac, i.e. genetic & autoimmune, or if it is simply a degenerative digestive condition. I have found the elimination diet in which I removed wheat, barley, rye, and oats from my diet helped significantly with the gluten intolerance. I also react highly to corn and rice and don't want to eat soy because of its hormonal impact.

Whole grains are major sources of fiber and B-vitamins. I supplement my B-vitamins generously, so I don't feel at risk in this area. There are lots of sources of fiber other than whole grains.

Practically, this means I use a lot of greens (raw and cooked); fibrous veggies like asparagus, artichokes, turnips, parsnips, rutabaga, beets, all squashes, carrots, celery, onion, and leeks; blackberries, raspberries, avocados, and apples; lots of nuts; lentils and some beans; and substitute quinoa in its various forms when I want something to take the place of rice, hot cereal, or oats in cooking.

Quinoa (Keen wa) is an Andean grain that is a very high protein source and does not contain gluten. It is also one that is not contaminated through the milling process in the way that oats frequently are.

I use nut flours (almond and pecan) or some other flours that don't contain gluten when I want to bake or make a white sauce. I use quinoa instead of rice and/or potatoes in stews. There are gluten free pastas (spaghetti, macaroni, fettuccine, and penne), crackers (Pecan crisps, for example).

Have to admit, at first it felt very restrictive, but as I learn more about how to use the products I can eat without pain or high BG spike (yes, for someone who is gluten intolerant, eating a gluten containing food causes BIG spikes), I am finding there is a lot of variety. It's also made it a little easier for me because my Nutritional type is a Protein, so I eat a lot of meat and fish.

berrykins0 2012-03-05 08:31:32 -0600 Report

its a automunne diease diabetiocs are at high risk for it not uncommon for diabetics to have this happen to them.

jayabee52 2012-03-03 17:39:25 -0600 Report

Great question Sonya!

I will ask one of my own: is there something which says that one HAS to eat one's carbs in the form of grain?

Grains are recommended by the gov't nutrition pyramid as a good source of carbohydrates but I have successfully been off all grains, (wheat, corn, rice, soybeans and flours from them) for over a year now without ill effect, and I am doing very well, diabetes wise.

Any carbs I get are from the non-starchy veggies (no potatoes, corn, peas and mimimal carrots) and most berries, like strawberries, blueberries, blackberries and razpberries.

I have found that by removing grains from my meal plan and substituting high protein for them I have been able to manage my Blood Glucose (BG) levels in the normal range, and lose 65 lbs of weight in the past year.

For People with Diabetes (PWDs) perhaps we ought to re-think our reliance on even whole grain carbohydrates, especially those who are gluten intolerant or celiac.

I do eat quinoa ("Keen WAH") on occasion since it has a great deal of protein in it.

Thanks for your question, Sonya! It seemed to get a lot of us thinking! And that's ALWAYS good!

Gemm 2012-03-03 12:54:43 -0600 Report

There are many other sources of whole grains that aren't wheat. Corn, rice, oats and many others can be whole grains for those with celiac disease. My older daughter's sister-in-law has a son who has it and I remember helping find alternatives. A site I found back then has a lot of information and recipes to help. I still have the recipes that were sent to me from the club so if you would like some of them let me know on my profile and we can link up so I can send them on to you.

It's called Gluten Free Club and here is the link to the home page —


OOOOPS - forgot the link so had to edit LMAO

I hope this helps you :) HUGS

kdroberts 2012-03-03 12:47:51 -0600 Report

For things like celiac disease, gluten is kind of a bucket and may not actually mean gluten. There are a few different proteins that cause issues for people with the disease and there are a lot of grains that don't contain any of them or only one which may or may not cause issues for people. Generally rice, quinoa, buckwheat and possibly oats and rye depending on the person are safe to eat. Rice is probably the biggest and easiest one to use but quinoa is getting pretty big.