I need to ask for opinions and experiences please

By granniesophie Latest Reply 2011-10-06 02:13:38 -0500
Started 2011-09-25 06:58:36 -0500

About 10 days ago my BG started spinning badly out of control, like from before I started taking any meds at all, and the numbers had been in tight control, and I'm not eating differently, and I started feeling really awful, and I didn't know why. On speaking with my brilliant daughter she asked if my doctor had changed any of my meds at my last visit, about 2 weeks ago, and I said no, but I got to thinking this morning when I woke up (it's 4:30!) that yes, he did. He changed me from Prilosec to Nexium in an effort to get my stomach under better control!
On reading the side effects of Nexium, it says that some of the side effects I have are what they say I could, and another is that my other meds might not work as well (or at all!!). My blood pressure meds seem to be working fine, just the Diabetes meds are not.
So, in the process of shutting off all the acid in my stomach, have I caused my Diabetes meds not to be able to work properly?
I still have plenty of Prilosec left, and am going back to that, but I wondered if anyone had had any experiences with meds fighting each other and not working, or with Nexium in general?
I have plenty of Prilosec, and have gone back to that today, and we'll see if my numbers change over the next week, since it will take at least that long to get into the doctor anyway, so I might as well try on my own first! I can live with a little more acid and feel alot better than awful BG numbers and constantly feeling sick!
Thanks for any advice or opinions you can give :)

30 replies

granniesophie 2011-10-04 05:58:35 -0500 Report

Update on how things are almost 2 weeks off of the Nexium. As I mentioned, I took myself off of the Nexium and went back to Prilosec. After a few days my BG got much lower, although it is still higher than I'd like and still coming down, and the rest of my meds are working better. I did get lots of side effects again from the other meds, like from when I first started taking them, so that was fun for several days, but all is back to what passes for normal for me!
Best of all, the pains in my chest and down my arm are gone and my digestion is now much better. The Nexium apparently caused my reflux to get much worse, and not help at all.
Score: Sonya 1 Nexium 0
Thank you all for all your advice, help and support, and to Jim for the awesome website-it helped with learing more about all my drug interactions!

Teresa Rose
Teresa Rose 2011-10-04 01:46:27 -0500 Report

I was just reading thease post, found this discussion by mere accident. Thank God !!! I would have never thought that Nexium would lessen the effects of my other medications. I naturally assumed that the doctor knew what she was doing and that my medications all worked together properly. I have been on Nexium for a while now and my other meds don't work very well like they should. I am so miserable with all of this. I'm so tired of all the pain and swelling. I told my husband I was stopping the Nexium. I hope my meds start working better. Thank you for this discussion and for the reply's because I needed to this very much. - Teresa Rose

AutoX 2011-10-04 02:58:59 -0500 Report

Something else you might try, talk to your pharmacist. Make sure he knows everything you are taking, both prescription and OTC. They usually know about drug interactions than the doctors. I know mine warned me several times of possible interactions and I called the doctor to let him know. The doctor in turn gave me some alternative options, like stopping a med temporarily (not one for diabetes) or taking another drug.

judiandsimba 2011-09-29 21:35:08 -0500 Report

Yes, certain medicines can cause a rise in blood sugars. My experience wwas with Abilify. Went sky high. Was drinking huge amounts of water to bring it down. Good luck. I hope that you have found the answer to spinning out of control.

jladytiger1979 2011-09-26 12:00:33 -0500 Report

I've never used Nexium only Prilosec but I HOPE EVERYTHING gets better for you! There's nothing like having great numbers and something randomly happens. It's like AWEEEE MAN!!! I feel for you! Much love!!!!

Jim Edwards
Jim Edwards 2011-09-26 11:50:20 -0500 Report

I will have to wait for their next email. Med-Guard is not their correct name

granniesophie 2011-09-26 13:44:14 -0500 Report

I found it!! It's MediGuard.org, and I love you in a friend kind of way :)

Jim Edwards
Jim Edwards 2011-09-26 14:27:29 -0500 Report

Yes, that is correct! I have been delighted with the info from there. I list every RX I take, every vitamin, every OTC med. I have a number of cautions, so I watch for the interactions. I am also pleased that after 3 years I have had no increse in unwanted emails, which indicates to me that they are not selling the list.

Jim Edwards
Jim Edwards 2011-09-26 11:47:52 -0500 Report

Wow! thanks for the education (sorry you had to be the subject). I know a lot of cold and antibiotics effect my BS, but I also know they are temporary. I "belong" to a website called MedGuard or something like that, where I list all my meds and vitamins and they notify me of reactions and the degree to which there may be a reaction. I have found it to be very informative. It is free and they are not connected with any drug companies. I will verify that I have the right name and be back.

margokittycat 2011-09-26 02:10:48 -0500 Report

Granniesophie, I would call your docotor and report the change in BS since being changed to Nexium. Nexium is a bad med for people who take several other meds becuase effects about 80% of all other meds from working properly.

granniesophie 2011-09-26 09:44:54 -0500 Report

Thank you soooo much! I wish I had known that! I wish HE had known that!! I took myself off of it 2 days ago and went back on Prilosec and I still feel really lousy, since I now have all the side effects from all the other meds which should now be starting to work properly. I know it will be several more days before everything is back to fairly normal for me.
I wish I could get a different doctor, because he really doesn't help me, and I keep getting sick from his "help", but I can't, since it's a military clinic and he has been assigned to me, or vice versa, and there is no one else and no one to complain to!
I am going to see if I can get some outside referrals from him, since he really doesn't like when I come in, I ask too many questions and he does not have the time for me, so he dreads seeing me! He's not a bad guy, but he's not right for me.

DragonDreams 2011-09-28 17:09:36 -0500 Report

Before you go in or fill a new prescription. Talk to a pharmacist (most large chains will do a free consultation with the pharmacist on duty) bring a list of the meds you are on, (include over the counter meds, herbal teas, and any supplements you might take) and ask about drug interactions, and the pharmacists opinions about the med/ condition. They are often the first to hear complaints from other patients about side effects, and the are educated about drug interactions (they regularly go back to school to learn about new meds) They may also have a recommendation about a med that may help you. Doctors are trained to find the problem and prescribe the most popular drug to fix it, not necessarily the one that will work best for you. I hope this helps you.

granniesophie 2011-09-28 17:58:20 -0500 Report

unfortunately, you don't ever get to talk to anyone when you fill an RX. this is a military clinic, and their main goal is to fill your perscription and get you the heck out of there fast. they don't pay much attention to what reacts to what. they do give you patient sheets that may as well be written in Greek, since no one can understand them! I research online or ask you all, thats how I find out anything. On the other hand-all my drugs are free (for now) so its a tradeoff-good service, or free drugs :)

DragonDreams 2011-09-28 19:10:58 -0500 Report

I'm talking about asking a regular Pharmacist. You don't have to use that pharmacy to get your prescriptions filled, just ask to have a consult with a pharmacist. I know that Wallgreens does this. You don't need to be a customer of theirs to consult a pharmacist. Even some mom and pop pharmacies will do it. It's worth a shot, and they may see something that's helpful. I have gone to a different pharmacy than the one I get my meds from just to get a second opinion. You could just tell the pharmacist that you are seeking a second opinion since your insurance limits the pharmacies that you can use (from what I understand of your situation that is the truth). Most will respect that. Some will encourage it.

granniesophie 2011-09-29 10:38:57 -0500 Report

Nope-definaitely not gluten intolerant-bread actually helps with the acid-the whiter the better! So, since I do not do white bread, I do Prilosec, which helps some. No more Nexium for me-ever!

Caliafiosgram62 2011-09-25 13:50:30 -0500 Report

Thanks everybody for the enlightening discussion. Twice now I've thought I was having a heart attack with pain radiating down my arm and difficulty breathing. Both times the Dr said no that it was just acid reflux - both times it hit in the middle of the night - I wasn't sure what to think. And at my age, well… Anyway thank s to all of you for teaching an "old dog" new tricks. I'm going to try that stuff from Walmart the next time I have an attack. Again, thanks all

Judy(JP) 2011-09-25 09:02:21 -0500 Report

Hi I'm Judy, old DC person just recently back from the depths! I have to chime in on this because I have had digestive issues my whole life and I had the same issues with Nexium and others. I still take generic Prilosec and probably always will have to take it because of the damage to my GI track. I found out a year ago that I have Celiac Disease which causes the GI symptoms. I've had it all my life and they just figured it out last year at age 53. I eat a gluten free diet now and I feel better than I did when I was 6 yrs old. I'm not saying that's what is causing your GI issues or that you should start a gluten free diet but would like to put it out there as something to discuss with your doctor. I am off of Diabetes meds now when I went gluten free my blood sugar numbers returned to normal ranges as the doctors expected it would. I still have Diabetes and a bad food decision can send my blood sugar soaring to new heights but it's easier to manage now.

When I was diagnosed with Celiac I said 'Isn't that something you diagnose in kids?'
The specialist told me that in recent years they have been doing studies on people that use antacids and medications like Prilosec to see if they can figure out WHY so many people need them.. and what they found in their study was that they knew 100% of the participants had Digestive Issues and took an antacid daily , 50% of them tested positive for Celiac Disease. So they started testing more older people with digestive issues and found that there are 1 in 133 of us with Celiac.. I am one of them. Just passing along information for you to use if you like but I know I was not aware of this before and just accepted that my Diabetes came out of nowhere. It's normalized now (as the doctors put it) but flares if I get cross contaminated with gluten…

*Judy (and for those of you that know me I'M BACK!!! LOL)

granniesophie 2011-09-25 12:33:16 -0500 Report

Hi Judy! I am glad you're back, and thanks for the reply! Definitely not Celiac-I don't have issues with any type of Gluten, just with being a lab rat for my Doctor! I have started back on the Prilosec again this morning, and as the brilliant daughter says-give it a week and see how your numbers are and how you feel and go from there! She is, as I am, betting on the nexium, so I need to get it out of my system! What's a little heartburn between friends :)

AuntieM234 2011-09-25 13:09:45 -0500 Report

Hey Sophie! I use an OTC acid reducer, instead of the medication Rx'd by my former doctor. It was recommended by MY brilliant daughter when I was complaining about the cost of the prescription drug. My daughter purchases it for me at Costco or Sam's Club, whichever one she is visiting when she makes the purchase. If you aren't a member of either of those, you can purchase Walmart's Equate brand acid reducer. That is what my daughter first purchased for me to try, and it works just dandy! Good luck to you, friend! ;-) Mara

jayabee52 2011-09-25 12:46:36 -0500 Report

You ask " What's a little heartburn between friends?" I can answer in 1 word: MISERABLE!

AuntieM234 2011-09-25 13:14:15 -0500 Report

I'm with you on this one, for sure, James! I have been diagnosed with the Acid Reflux or reflex, whichever … When an attack comes on, I feel as though I'm having a heart attack, have a problem breathing, because the pain takes my breath away. As I stated to Sophie, above, Walmart's Equate brand acid reducer works great for me. ;-) Mara

granniesophie 2011-09-25 13:06:41 -0500 Report

Yes, it is, but it's better than numbers in the 200's all the time instead of in the low 100's! I can live with a little heartburn instead. That's a big jump in numbers in one week, and it is just not right!

Dixiemom 2011-09-26 10:56:10 -0500 Report

I just started bacxk on Papaya tabs. They are natural. I use the generic form of Prilosec every day. I too was on Nexium but decided I really didn't feel any different so didn't renew it and went on the generic. I still get chest pain that is sometimes relieved by drinking water. Sometimes I just drink 1/2 and 1/2 to relieve the pain. If the papaya relieves the acidity I will just use that.

Next Discussion: Suffering »