No Reviews of any Kind

By Goddess Latest Reply 2008-10-21 08:57:46 -0500
Started 2008-10-21 01:18:03 -0500

To keep certain people happy. Let's not have a review section in any catergory.

18 replies

GabbyPA 2008-10-21 07:40:09 -0500 Report

I use the review section a lot to see what everyone here uses, likes or doesn't think works. Being new to diabetes, that is a vital part of what I need to help me choose if I am going to use a product or not. I really believe we need it.

Lanore 2008-10-21 08:57:46 -0500 Report

I do that as well, it has some real good info on it. It is a good thing to have. By what I am reading I think everyone needs to take a step back and calm down.

Anonymous 2008-10-21 04:06:19 -0500 Report

I agree with you Misery. I also think that the management should do the product reviews. The members can send a private review to them and if they approve of its content they can post it under their controlled review section, that way no one will get in trouble for expressing an opinion in the wrong section.

Anonymous 2008-10-21 05:17:28 -0500 Report

I am sorry but i do not agree with this…we all have an opinion,
and this is not a place that is controlled by anyone person. But comments or saying that you would like to use a product, should not be put in the review section. It should be put in the discussion section. I believe that is all KD & Gabby were trying to say.

Anonymous 2008-10-21 05:24:12 -0500 Report

Well as I see it, KD wants to have the review section controlled, so my comments stand. I think it should be only allowed for an approved review and if someone wishes to comment on it, they can contact management or the person directly through an e-mail. This way what happened yesterday will be avoided. Management could have conrolled that situation by shutting down the posts but instead they let it continue and added fuel to the fire. Something should have been done. Immediaely when it started.

kdroberts 2008-10-21 05:39:07 -0500 Report

Couldn't be further from what I suggested and just goes to prove my suspicions that the people with a problem with what I said still have no idea what I meant and probably never will.

My point was purely that reviews of products get posted in the reviews section and comments about products get posted to the discussion section. If I had said recipes should be posted in the recipe section and book reviews should be posted in the book reviews section, would people have had the same reaction? It's essentially the same thing. Maybe people would get offended and be fearful if I said don't go to the bank to do your grocery shopping, I don't know. I really am at a loss why people have such a hard time understanding it.

Anonymous 2008-10-21 05:49:21 -0500 Report

Go to the reviews section and see what he is talking about…it is being used as a discussion board and it shouldn't be. That is what the discussions are for.I don't think it should be controlled by anyone person.

kdroberts 2008-10-21 06:09:31 -0500 Report

Of course the boards get monitored and moderated. Without that people will spam it with ads for useless products that rip people off. Every single message board in the history of the internet has been and will be moderated. If something you post gets changed it's because it violates some of the terms of service or is not posted in the right section. I'm surprised (well not really because the mods are pretty busy) that more is not changed. For instance, Boost Glucose Control is in the review section. I quote from the product detail "Boost Glucose Control is a nutritional drink." however, it is listed under injection prescription. If you were looking for info about a drink you can buy at grocery and other stores, would you look start by looking in the injection prescription section? Doubtful.

"They" controlling it is not how it started. Users not understanding/misusing the reviews section is how it started.

Anonymous 2008-10-21 06:14:05 -0500 Report

Well right now I am not interested in anything you have to say. You went way out of bounds on the other discusion and I am reporting you and this site to the Alliance Health Network.

Anonymous 2008-10-21 02:52:52 -0500 Report

Hi Misery,
What is wrong at the review section?? Did I miss something?? I like the review section. It does help, that is the first place I go when I start something new or just want to know about something. I say keep it. Everyone has there own opinions and views and that is the way it should be, but I don't think it should be taken personal by anyone. There are some here that seem to have a problem with taking things in a personal way, and that just isn't the case. It is basicly just our opinion and we have a right to that. I guess some just don't like that. Thanks.

kdroberts 2008-10-21 03:25:08 -0500 Report

What you missed was my fault I guess. I suggested that the review section be kept to reviews and that comments and questions that are currently skewing the product ratings be posted in the discussion section. Eg, when you review a product you give it a review saying you used it, what you liked and disliked about it and a rating saying if it helped or not rather than writing a review like "I have not tried this" and then giving it a rating that it worked for you. Misery and a few other people, for reasons known only to themselves, took that as a personal attack on them.

Anonymous 2008-10-21 05:12:31 -0500 Report

Thanks KD I have since found the post and read each one. I have to agree with you, it is not a place for comments, But reviews of a product that you have used.

tmana 2008-10-21 01:25:14 -0500 Report

I think the review section is one of the unique and useful aspects of DiabeticConnect. The reviews give us an idea what each of us who answers thinks about a particular device, medication, or accessory. We should not expect perfectly-happy, or perfectly all-one-way reviews: what works for one of us may not work for another, and that's perfectly understandable and reasonable.

kdroberts 2008-10-21 01:43:57 -0500 Report

I agree. Review anything you want, good or bad, but it should be kept to reviews rather than conversation and questions. That's what the discussion section is for.

Unfortunately some people seem to have taken offense to something I posted for reason I cannot understand. I hope that it's a misunderstanding because I'm baffled at the responses that I got. It has to be a misunderstanding really because some of the replies were stating the complete opposite to what I said and many just bought up things out of the blue that were not part of the original sentiment of the post.