Don't ruin the reviews section

By kdroberts Latest Reply 2009-01-03 10:01:14 -0600
Started 2008-10-20 06:28:10 -0500

There seems to be a massive misuse of the reviews section going on recently where people are just posting discussions or discussion type comments and it's making the reviews system largely pointless.

There are some products that are reviewed at 100% but when you read the reviews the people reviewing them haven't even tried the product.

I would suggest that you use the reviews section for a review of a product you have actually used. Say what you liked about it, what you didn't like about it, a little review saying why or why it hasn't worked for you and then rate it has worked or hasn't worked. Don't use it for comments like "This sounds good, I will try it" or " I don't like the sound of this." If you want to discuss a product, start a discussion rather than comment in a review. There is no value in a review that rates something 100% or 0% but none that of the reviewers have used the product.

135 replies

Anonymous 2009-01-03 08:40:37 -0600 Report

It's obvious when reading about a product who is legit and who just wants the points. It's sad you spend so much time on a discussion that is not important. I hope you got what you wanted from this. It was a large waste of time in my opinion.

Anonymous 2009-01-03 10:01:14 -0600 Report

Let's please not start this discussion all over again. It caused alot of drama and upset alot of people. We all know about the reveiw section, and we all are trying to be better. We also all know about the point system. While some use all these reviews, discussions and recipes and friends to gain points we do not need to point this all out again. This site has been running great now. please, please let it be.

Edie 2008-10-24 04:56:35 -0500 Report

I was Reading this one again and noticed that the first Reply I added to this wasn't on here the last time I read it. How did that happen.
I said that if anyone wanted to complain about what ever they didn't like what was said in the Reviews they needed to send an email to me here and if someone replied wrong on the reviews please let them know in private not on here as was done. That way no one thinks it is about them and not someone else. Please leave this one on here for all to see. I don't care if I get emails from others on here that is how we make friends and IM eachother on Yahoo. Thankyou for reading what I had to say and also thankyou for leaving it here this time.
Your Friend Always;
Edie Mitchell

John Crowley
John CrowleyCA 2008-10-24 05:22:46 -0500 Report

We didn't edit your earlier reply. I'm still seeing it about 13 replies above this one.

sorry for any confusion.

kdroberts 2008-10-24 05:33:46 -0500 Report

Personally I would edit out the email address from both posts. Not a good idea to post email addresses online, especially on open forums, too easy to harvest and sell to spammers.

vgarrison 2008-10-24 05:59:41 -0500 Report

Not only have I posted my email address before, but I have posted my number as well. If someone wants to harvest my email address then so be it, but if it helps someone out of a jam to be able to call or write to me…then it's all worth it…if I get a call I don't like, then I hang up…simple

Blessed Be

Charish 2008-10-23 16:36:24 -0500 Report

Well it's certainly nice to know that I have gain such fame here that I would be named as having a pointless review on a product that struct me as being interesting and wanting to try it for myself. Having being named clearly for being one of the guilty is a great honor that I have earned here thank you KD for bringing that out.

If you're wondering if I am offended, NEVER. I'm just simply amazed at how someone can judge others without trying hard and getting as much attention as you have for being seemingly negative yourself. I will make it a point not to leave such meaningless reviews again in the future.

Take this in the manner that you will and know that when I say this it is heartfelt and I mean all that I'm about to say to you. HUGS AND KISSES…SMILES ALWAYS!!!!!!!!!!

Teresa (Charish)

2008-10-24 00:09:57 -0500 Report

Hi, Charish, I don/t think I have followed this discussion, but don't take offense, If it needs to be said, get it out. I often put posts in the wrong spot acccidently or I do not really know where it should be put. I have requested a few more category posts to separate Items more easily, esp. when people want to be a little obnoxious or negative.

GabbyPA 2008-10-24 00:43:36 -0500 Report

Everyone has done this. We all have a learning curve here.

All that is being said (I am sounding like a parrot now) is that now that we have been instructed on how to use it propperly. Do that. Good grief, I am so over this.

Anonymous 2008-10-24 02:35:07 -0500 Report

We were not instructed on how to use it. We were insulted, and our intelligence was questioned. Not everything on here is pleasant. I wish you would realize that. This has hurt alot of people and you want to sweep it under the rug. This problem should have been handled so differently than it was. And the management did nothing to stop it. KD had no right.

kdroberts 2008-10-24 03:08:52 -0500 Report

I tried to let this die but it seems some people won't and want to keep putting the boot in.

No, I posted a simple request and you decided to take it personally and STARTED the argument. If you didn't understand what I said you could have asked for clarification but you decided to make it about you and start throwing blame, insults and conspiricy theories left right and center. If you read the thread it was only after a great deal of nasty comments by you and some others I posted something that may be considered offensive. However, again you read it wrong or just like to play the "woe is me card" and made it about something else.

I'm still baffled as to why you are playing all innocent when you were the one who reacted the way you did to an innocent, respectful post in the first place! Now you come with the "oh I'm so offended, I did nothing wrong and fear for my life so I'm posting anonymously" attitude and quite frankly, it's pathetic. Grow up, realize that anyone who has read your posts knows who you are because they are all the same and that you were as guilty as anyone else and move on. However, I suspect that you will try and play the victim card for as long as you can to again make it all about you.

Goddess 2008-10-24 03:18:13 -0500 Report

I'm not talking directlty at you kd. I just want all of this to stop. When I think it has another post is posted on here. Peolple please let it drop!!!!

Edie 2008-10-24 05:05:40 -0500 Report

Kd you know what, I think you also are going overboard with the remarks at her. Now let it die. and next time write to those that might not realize that it was done wrong. I know I have been wrong also and my first post was removed or some how got knocked off. Don't matter how it got lost but now I'm on here again and have just seen this one for the first time and not to proud about it. So I'm an stating my feelings about it and Telling you also to grow up. If you don't like what is said then don't comment on it and it will drop. So now I'm leaving this discussion to die a peasefull death by itself.



Charish 2008-10-24 05:43:55 -0500 Report

Hi All,

If my earlier response had of been read which is several statments above the one that I wrote on last night then it would have been seen that I had written that," WE ALL HAVE DONE THIS AT SOME POINT AND NOW THAT IT HAS BEEN COMMENTED ON WE WILL BE MORE AWARE OF IT". But then I read down further that I was one of the guilty ones pointed out and I wanted to see soemthing for myself, I wanted to do an experiment of my own. I wanted to see that if the show were placed back on the foot that placed it in the first place how would it feel. Well the feeling is that it wasn't liked at all. I tolerate things well and I took NO offense, but one of the things I have learned in this life is that it's okay to express opinion but be mindful of others when its done. But I think the greatest lesson that I have ever learn above the one mentioned here is that you can not change anyone they have to change themselves.

And like Gabby said," I'M SO OVER THIS", guess what Gabby I truly am because I never thought when in joiniing this site that I woudl see something like this errupt into the mess that it has become. One statement has caused so much reaction.

When people feel that you have taken offense to something that was stated to you and then react there is usally additional reactions that can cause a great deal of damage. I feel that there are some feelings and even hearts that need to be repaired here. I agree let it all go and be mindful of what's said because you never know that the one statement that you make to someone that will change their opinion of being a part of something that could be great. No friends I didn't take offense to any of this at all but its always good to know that when the show is given back it's never a good fit.

I'm now in the place of choice and for a brief moment I will go because I feel that there are those who don't take what we do and who we are in consideration nor take us serious. The statement is not the first one that I have noticed but I of course let it go and not involved myself in it, GOOD DECISION. And mostly I feel that it because of things that this one that this site may suffer, but as long as there are people like me who have love in their hearts and want the better good for people then tolerance will continue and this site will grow.

Take care my treasured friends and I'll miss each of you for the moment that I'm gone. But sometimes its the choices that others make are the one that cause copassionate people like me to step back and breathe for awhile.

Hugs and Kisses


Charish 2008-10-24 06:16:41 -0500 Report

I've never posted anything here anonymously I've been very open since joining this site, and I never took offense nor do I claim to be a victim.

Thank you and God Bless


Edie 2008-10-22 00:07:21 -0500 Report

Ok, This is enough. I have been coming here for a short while. I like the Site but sometimes people go overboard. Lets let it drop and see how things go for the next month. If There is still problem going on then email those that are abusing the system. This kind of bikering helps no one, and makes several people angry. If you are using the site correctly then don't worry about it if your not then expect an email in the future telling just you not everyone else. I had an email the other day from a friend saying enough. I didn't understand it but thought it was about me posting personal things. But after reading this I might have been wrong. I was going to stay offline for awhile because of that email, but guess what I'm not letting anyone run me off of here for any reason as I do get lots of help from here. So if someone is upset about what is said on a Review or a Discussion take it up with that Person and not like this. This helps no one but upsets alot of helpful people. That is all I have to say on this subject.

If you have a problem with what I have said here then e-mail me here or at small I check that one more often than here.
Your Friend Always;

Goddess 2008-10-22 00:50:38 -0500 Report

I agree with you. We are adults lets act like it.Enough is enough. Some people and I'm including myself have mental problems and it's just majing it worse on that person I know it is me. Thank you for listening.

Anonymous 2008-10-22 03:38:21 -0500 Report

This will be my final comment on this. This got way out of hand and the so-called management let it happen and let it continue. No one is blameless in this. But what I find very sad is I am very afraid to put my real name on posts in fear of retaliation. That is not a friendly forum. So much damage has been done and I will never feel safe enough to use my real name on any discusson ever again. I will not make a review, nor will I start a discussion. the overwhelming friendliest of the site has been tarnished and as far as I am concerned will never be the same again.

Lanore 2008-10-22 05:07:34 -0500 Report

Make out of it what you want…but NO one is going to come down on you for anything…my goodness!!!
Ok It is done and over with, can we PLEASE let it go now. Enough already.

sexyswamprat 2008-10-21 14:35:54 -0500 Report

I just started to read all of this conversation and I am behind Gabby and Kd 100%. From what I read in the original post no one specific person was mentioned as to not using the product review section correctly. Somone assumed that they were the one being referred to and has blown this whole thing way out of preportion. How can I say this without sounding like a b*tch,well I can't, If you don't like the site than stay off of it and relieve us of your constant complaining!!!!

steadb 2008-10-21 05:52:41 -0500 Report

Can everyone PLEASE keep in mind that this site…this community…has to be based on helping people along.

Our logo at the top is designed to convey…educated, older and more experienced patients and caregivers…bringing others new to the disease or the info along.

This place is about love and kindness. Peace.

Please make a commitment to each other and yourselves to carry yourselves with those values.

This should be a place where critical thoughts will be conveyed. Please make sure that you aren't rude about it.

Be open to other perspectives and recognize that people come at this site from different levels.



Anonymous 2008-10-21 06:30:48 -0500 Report

Do you really feel love and kindness in here today?

GabbyPA 2008-10-21 07:00:57 -0500 Report

We could if we would just let it go and move on. The fact that we keep rubbing it and misconsturding it just makes it worse. You have made me so sad...I would rather it be dropped.

Anonymous 2008-10-21 07:05:05 -0500 Report

Oh this is way beyond sadness, this was insulting. And nothing can be done about it now. The damage has been done.

Lanore 2008-10-21 05:43:04 -0500 Report

Well i guess I didn't understand the whole thing until I went to the reviews to see for my self just what was being put in there. It looks like it is being used as a discussion board, which is not what it is intented to be. So KD is right on with what he is saying. If you want to know more about something that someone else has tried, than email them and ask or put it in a discussion for all to see. It is that easy. Lanore :-)

Anonymous 2008-10-21 05:53:54 -0500 Report

Things have gone horribly wrong. The intent of this original post was not worded right. It should have been explained, not preached at us. Merely instructed when they first started the review section. Not now. They should have started it as only reviews and no comments allowed. Now we have this mess and no one is sure of what to say or do. I am afraid to put my real name on things in fear of retaliation. That is not right. Nothing about this is right. Management should have shut it down when it got out of hand, but they did not an added fuel to the fire. SO VERY SAD. A site that says it wants to help and inform people have now let a really good thing turn into a very bad situation with no way out.

kdroberts 2008-10-21 06:01:01 -0500 Report

"They should have started it as only reviews and no comments allowed"

They did. It's very obvious for a number of reasons. The primary being you click a big orange button that says "Review This Product Now." You click that button, you see the big test "Review this product" then you select if it's worked or hasn't worked for you and then you write your review and list any pros and cons you feel people might like to know. Pretty simple. People have just used the review function as a means to write a comment.

Sorry if you thought my original post was preachy, I was just trying to ask people to use the reviews section for reviews and the discussion section for discussions. The fact people don't read what they are doing is not my fault. However it has occurred to me and been mentioned before that something much more childish is gong on. You get more points for posting in the review section than you do in the discussion section so people are using the reviews to boost their points total. If that's the case, it's pretty pathetic to bring down the value of a section just to get a colored star on your profile.

Lee Ann - 22107
Lee Ann - 22107 2008-10-21 05:26:28 -0500 Report

Why do I have to drink VitaminWater to know that it's nothing but sugar water? I can read the label, and find reviews from qualified sources. Sending my BG into orbit isn't going to impact the validity of my review.

GabbyPA 2008-10-21 05:42:01 -0500 Report

As long as you review it, and don't just say you have never tried it but don't like it...Add validity to your thumbs up or down. Explain why you would not use it. That is all we are asking.

vgarrison 2008-10-21 04:21:51 -0500 Report

KD, John, and Gabby,

I too am guilty of doing this. I would like to point one thing out..John had made a comment that he wanted to keep the comments off the review part so that new comers could read thru and find the best products for them…I will say, part of the reason that I wrote the comments like I did, was because I had seen it done before and thought it was the point. Therefore I'm just saying that everyone has a very valid point, I have only been here about a month, and I can completely understand what they mean a bout new comers having a chance to find the best products available. When all those comments are there it does raise the % of the product and is not helpful at all…and might steer the newbies into thinking that is the point of the review section.

Again I too am guilty of this, and will cease this immediatly. Emailing the person who posted the product seems like the easiest way to ask a question…the email system is there, might as well use it…

Blessed Be

kdroberts 2008-10-21 04:29:11 -0500 Report

I think you just proved the point. Unlike every other section of the site, there is no way to post a comment in the reviews section, they are all counted as a review. You have to give it a thumbs up or thumbs down which is reflected in the score a product receives. None of what is in the reviews section is wrong as in shouldn't be posted at all but when a product can have 13 reviews with 12 of them being questions and each one giving the product a thumbs up, it makes it harder and harder to figure out if a product actually works for people or not. On one hand they give it a thumbs up but the review for that thumbs up says they haven't tried it. Starting a discussion topic about the product give everyone a way to view and contribute all the info about a product so that everyone can see it but without the need to count each comment as an individual review of the product.

vgarrison 2008-10-21 04:42:32 -0500 Report

Excactly KD, also I just wanted to point out that there is no manual for this site, which means that us newbies learn by seeing what the other people on the site do. I am very guilty of commenting on products that I have not tried.

The greatest thing about this site is that there are soooo many diverse people on this site that bing so many diverse opinions about things. Just because someone doesn't agree with you doesn't mean that they either a) don't like you or b) don't want to hear what you have to say. I love a good debate on some things…it's a healthy part of life.

Blessed Be

Anonymous 2008-10-21 04:45:47 -0500 Report

You can solve that problem very quickly. Only let the person reviewing add their comments and do not let anyone else post any thing. You can have a note saying that if you wish to discuss further to e-mail the person who reviewed the product. How simple that would have been and this whole situation could have been avoided. And if things had been worded differently then this MESS would not have been started. No one is blameless in this situation, everyone has said things and now no one can be trusted. I do not know if things will ever be resolved. Because all parties are thinking they are right and no one has made a solution for any of this. Some people were privately e-mailed about it, when it should have been addressed as a public response. Again, I am anonymous in fear.

sparkysmom 2008-10-21 04:52:46 -0500 Report

"Again, I am anonymous in fear." In fear of What???? No one here is going to hurt anybody. This subject is getting way out of hand

kdroberts 2008-10-21 04:58:30 -0500 Report

Jeez, I've had enough of this. If people are living in fear because I suggested people post reviews in the reviews section and discussions in the discussion section then they must be leading very sad and sheltered lives.

It's obvious that despite my best efforts to explain my point people still don't get it, maybe I'm not explaining it right or maybe it's something else. I shall try and highlight once again and for the last time.

The point is that every post in the reviews section is A REVIEW. I repeat, if you click the link to view a products reviews, every single post in that thread for that product is A REVIEW. It is NOT A COMMENT, people are NOT COMMENTING ON A REVIEW, they are REVIEWING THE PRODUCT. Just because somebody posts a product in the reviews section doesn't mean that theirs is the only review, EVERY SINGLE POST AFTER THEIRS ARE REVIEWS.

Maybe I'm just weird but I don't find a reviews like "I've not tried this" or "where can I buy this?" very helpful in deciding if I should try it or not. It doesn't tell me what the product does, how long it took to work, what it did for the person or any downsides to using the product. If that helps you decide if you want to use a product then I'm not sure how it does but good for you.

Anonymous 2008-10-21 05:34:31 -0500 Report

What I would like to know is why was this not planned out when the review section started? The reviewer from now on should be instructed to put in all relevant information. Where they got it, how much did it cost, did it need an prescirption. That way no one will need to make a comment. all of this should have been addressed before. There a major changes to this site that need to be worked out. And worked out now. Does'nt some company control this site? Like Alliance Health. Maybe they should be made aware of all of this and help solve this ridiculousness.

kdroberts 2008-10-21 05:46:19 -0500 Report

Well, sorry to be rude, but I think anyone with an ounce of common sense should realize that when they click a big orange button that says "Review This Product Now" you would realize you are submitting a review. Even if you didn't realize at that point, the fact that the first thing on the page after clicking the big orange button is, in big green letters "Review this Product" should be another tip off. Then the fact you have to select if the product has worked for you or hasn't worked for you is another pretty big clue. Finally the the pros and cons boxes should be another clue. The fact you still think you can comment on a review blows my mind. What exactly don't you understand about the section as a whole? It really isn't a difficult thing to understand!

To be honest, and I've given up caring what people think at this point, if you still don't understand that you are writing a review and not a comment after seeing all those things I really have a hard time understanding how you get out of bed in the morning.

Anonymous 2008-10-21 06:10:16 -0500 Report

How incredibly rude was that. I know how to use the review section. Obviously, you think we did not or you would not have started this. You were the one that said we should not use it for comments and now you say we should have known it all along. That is how this got started. You told us we were doing something wrong and wanted it changed and now you think we should have known it all along. What are you saying? that we all cannot read and you wish we were smarter. I take offense to this and you had no right. I am reporting this whole site and you to the governing Aliance Health network. This has gotten so out of hand. But your comments are the last straw. And anyway, who died and made you God yesterday.

kdroberts 2008-10-21 06:35:29 -0500 Report

Yes it was rude and it was in response to all the crap that was thrown at me. Seeing as you still fail to understand the point I will try and make it simple. Here is a listing of an actual product review. Apologies to people who may feel like I'm picking on them, I'm using it as an example.

Vaseline Intensive Rescue Clinical Therapy
Helps 100% of the time

Review 1
October 11, 2008 3:40 PM
after two treatments my feet are the softest and less scaly than they have been in months. I put it on and put on socks and my feet feel moist and do not look cracked. Amazing product!
Works/Has Worked

This is a review and would help people make a choice on using it or not.

Review 2
October 11, 2008 5:03 PM
Will try this on my arms and legs and the rest of my body. My skin is so dry I can rub in and it flakes off.
Works/Has Worked

This is not a review. How did the product work for the reviewer if it's not been tried? Knowing that their skin is dry doesn't help me decide if I want to use it.

Review 3
October 14, 2008 3:16 AM

I will try this too.I am anoil of olay person but I am willing to try anything that might be better.
Sounds like it would be better being prescription strength.
Haven't tried it yet so don't know.
Works/Has Worked

How does it work for the reviewer if they haven't tried it?

Review 4

October 14, 2008 3:55 PM
I did not know that Vaseline Intensive Care made this type of lotion. I'm glad that you posted it. Now I can go buy some.
Anything made by these people for skin care is excellent.

Not a review. How did it work for the reviewer if they haven't tried it? How does it help me decide if I want to use it?

Review 5
October 16, 2008 6:52 AM

I will buy this as soon as I can locate it. Vaseline products has always been an old stand by for —both tried and true..
Works/Has Worked

Not a review. How did it work for the reviewer if they haven't tried it? How does it help me decide if I want to use it?

Review 6
Misery (second review of the product)
October 16, 2008 8:01 AM
I haven't found it yet.
Works/Has Worked

Not a review. How did it work for the reviewer if they haven't tried it? How does it help me decide if I want to use it?

Review 7
ilvtony20 (second review of the product)
October 16, 2008 2:14 PM
I went to the doctor today and he even noticed a different in my feet. They were not as dry, more smoother looking and the eleastcity back.
Works/Has Worked

A kind review. It would be nice if it could be added to the original review but that feature is not available.

Review 8
Misery (third review of the product)
October 16, 2008 2:29 PM
How long have you been using it?

Works/Has Worked

Not a review. How did it work for the reviewer if they haven't tried it? How does it help me decide if I want to use it?

Review 9
ilvtony20 (third review of the product)
October 16, 2008 2:38 PM

I have been using it since last Friday. The first time I did the Ped Egg and then the lotion. Now I just do the lotion 2 times a day. I will probably do the Ped Egg once a month if I need too.
Works/Has Worked

Not a review. How did it work for the reviewer if they haven't tried it? How does it help me decide if I want to use it? Should be added to the users original review but that's not an option right now.

Review 10
Misery (fourth review of the product)
October 16, 2008 2:48 PM
Where did you get it and how much was it?
Works/Has Worked

Not a review. How did it work for the reviewer if they haven't tried it? How does it help me decide if I want to use it?

Review 11
ilvtony20 (fourth review of the product)
October 16, 2008 3:00 PM

I got it at Wal Mart in the health and beuaty section and it was $5.99. Big bottle too. You do not need alot.
Works/Has Worked

Not a review. How did it work for the reviewer if they haven't tried it? How does it help me decide if I want to use it? Should be added to the users original review but that's not an option right now.

Review 12
Misery (fifth review of the product)
October 16, 2008 3:03 PM

That's great news. Wal-Mart is easy for me to get to and I can afford it.
Works/Has Worked

Not a review. How did it work for the reviewer if they haven't tried it? How does it help me decide if I want to use it?

Review 13
Misery ( sixth review of the product)
October 20, 2008 5:48 AM

They only had the intensve rescue but not the clinical strength.
Works/Has Worked

Not a review. How did it work for the reviewer if they haven't tried it? How does it help me decide if I want to use it?

Review 14
ilvtony20 (fifth review)
October 20, 2008 3:09 PM

Due to the problems on posting this review. I want this review removed immediately by the governing body of this site.

There use to be alot to like about this site. Not anymore..

I was told not to review products but put them in discusions if they were not health related. Lotion is not important enough.
Works/Has Worked

Not a review. How did it work for the reviewer if they haven't tried it? How does it help me decide if I want to use it?

Review 15
October 20, 2008 5:58 PM

This is something I really need for my dry skin.
Works/Has Worked

Not a review. How did it work for the reviewer if they haven't tried it? How does it help me decide if I want to use it?

Review 16
Misery (eighth review of the product)
October 20, 2008 10:55 PM

I really need to know about products like these.
Works/Has Worked

Not a review. How did it work for the reviewer if they haven't tried it? How does it help me decide if I want to use it?

So, 16 reviews, half of them by the same person. All said it has worked for them but only 1 has a) used the product and b) is a review. Several reviews by the same person would be useful if they were all part of the same review but as individual reviews they get lost and don't make as much sense.

There should be 1 review of this product and the others should be a discussion topic about it. As it stands now, if 1 person adds a negative review the product will have a 94% rating when it should actually have a 50% rating. I don't know about you but my decision on trying a product would be very different if I was comparing something rated 94% compared to something rated 50%.

Theresa Kirkland
Theresa Kirkland 2008-10-22 01:53:02 -0500 Report

Yes, but, If we are to be honest and think people care about what we are saying then it stands to reason that some people would commit on said review, what thay think without thinking they have done something wrong. Now you are being rude. Please check your attitude and treat others like adults, as you, I assume want to be treated. No insult intended.

GabbyPA 2008-10-22 02:02:30 -0500 Report

Please, I emplore you. Let this die. It all happend two days ago and we don't need it to stir up again. It is finally calming down. We just need to walk away from it, learn our lessons and move on.

GabbyPA 2008-10-21 05:39:25 -0500 Report

Hey Vicki,
That was one of the things I said in my very frist post. We all make those goofs, we all have a learning curve to deal with. You are so right, we have all done it. We don't have many "rules" here and if people don't know that's fine. We all learn togehter...that was the whole reason for KD's post, to teach us how to use it. It is just such a shame it didn't get taken that way. This whole thing has made me kind of sad.

vgarrison 2008-10-21 06:01:47 -0500 Report

Yes Gabby,

Imagine my surprise when I didn't get on at all yesterday and found this discussion this morning…I too was quite sad. It's just too bad that some things get blown out of proportion. Yes there are times that some people say something meaning one thing and that it is taken a different way. That is the foe of the internet…you cannot see what facial expression someone has when they type things.


Anonymous 2008-10-21 03:22:08 -0500 Report

Hi Guys…we need to sit back and take a break. I agree with KD & Gabby. And yes we need the reviews section it is very helpful to people, but i have seen some stuff in there that should not be there either. I think a couple of people here are taking this a little too personal and need to grow up. Just my opinion and I have a right to it. This is a great site and if you don't want to be here you have the right to leave. Sorry to see you. Thanks.

Anonymous 2008-10-21 04:01:31 -0500 Report

Sorry to see you too. How rude was that?

kdroberts 2008-10-21 04:24:09 -0500 Report

I would like to think it was a typing error and "Sorry to see you go" was what was intended.

Anonymous 2008-10-21 04:36:28 -0500 Report

How do you know that. Because of this "discussion", people are saying all kinds of things. I find it very sad that people are now afraid to say things under their own names in fear that they will be persecuted by all, on these posts. I noticed today more and more anonymous posts. I am doing it also, in fear of my opinion being rejected. How very sad it has come to this. In a society where there are so many other things that could be talk about. Diabetics are a part of this society also, too bad we have to be "unknowns" to express an opinion. I am very disappointed in this forum, and in the members of this site. Too bad the moderators let it happen. This posts could have been deleted when all of this started to happen. But they just let it continue and added fuel to the fire. SO VERY SAD. I really enjoyed this site, and found many things that were helpful and that I talked to my Doctor about. But now it has been tarnished by this and I can no longer trust that it will not happen again. Have a Good Day everyone!

morris.js 2008-10-21 00:10:58 -0500 Report

Some of you do not know me, but many of you do. I forced myself to take a leave from this site because I was depressed about some personal issues. The reason I did so, was because I have so much love and respect for everyone here, I did not want to risk taking the chance of being negative and bringing someone down.

This site by far is the best one I've seen for Diabetics to come to for information and support. It was built by some very compassionate people, and was accepted readily. It is a very much needed place to be for not only people who have been dealing with this disease for a long time, but the newly diagnosed as well.

we all have opinions about how things should be done. KD was giving us his, and others put in their two cents as well. No one took any shots at anyone else. In all the discussions I was involved with or ever read, I only saw three things deleted or edited by the management. And those were only partialy deleted for language or some form of profit making scheme.

If anyone is taking this discussion personaly, then they need to do as I did and take a break. No one has put anyone down here except for the comments about how this site is managed and censored. There has to be controls or it will fall into chaos and be worthless to all. Lets not ruin this great thing we have here by taking these issues so personaly. I defy anyone to find a more positive, supportive, and knowledeable site for Diabetics, than this one.

May God be with you all, and bring some peace to your hearts. I keep all of you in my thoughts each day. Please know that I cannot wait for the day when I can return full time and be a positive influence for this community again. I pray that when I do, ALL of you have taken a step back, relaxed, and decided to stay and continue to share this great experience.

Sincerely, John Morris

NamVet - 21894
NamVet - 21894 2008-10-20 16:01:16 -0500 Report

I am done, let Kd review everything himself!

GabbyPA 2008-10-20 23:39:03 -0500 Report

What is up Nam? You guys are still not understanding the concept of the review. If you participate in a review, either by starting one or adding to one; all we are asking is that your thumbs up or down is validated by a comment that is useful in the decision making of someone who is reading it. It has a totally differnt format from anything else on the site, all we want is for the information shared to be relevant. That is not a big thing to ask. It is not a conversation section at all, and that is how it is being used. It is a section where you review a product and you leave it at that. Make it useful to those who read it. That is why it has a PROS and CONS part to it.

I can't belive this is still an issue. Come on guys...this is just unbelievable.

Charish 2008-10-20 15:37:01 -0500 Report

We have at some point done this but thanks for the comment and I'm sure we will be more mindful of this.

kdroberts 2008-10-20 10:37:38 -0500 Report

Whilst I was driving home I was reflecting on this and then I realized something that may be the cause of all this friction. Maybe people don't understand how the review section works.

The book club you post comments, news and articles you post comments, Watch & Listen you post comments but the review section doesn't work like that. Everything you post for a product in the review section is a review. If you post a product for review, that's not a review it's a solicitation for reviews. Every response is a review and is counted as a review. You don't have the option not to rate the product like you do in other sections. Could this be the misunderstanding between us all?

I also came up with an example that was completely unrelated to this board.

Say you were thinking of going to the movies but you weren't sure if the movie you were thinking about was what you wanted to see and you have 5 minutes to figure it out. So, you go to a movie review site and see that 5 people have reviewed it and 60% of them gave it the thumbs up. You go to look at the reviews and this is what you see.

1. I haven't seen this movie yet but it looks good. Thumbs up.
2. My movie theater isn't showing this yet. thumbs down.
3. This just opened up at my local theater. I'm going to see it this weekend. Thumbs up.
4. It costs $15 to go see this movie. Thumbs down.
5. My movie theater only charges $6.50, it's an AMC. Thumbs up.

Do any of those reviews help you decide if you want to go see the movie? Would you class these as reviews or a discussion topic?

anitamusser 2008-10-20 15:31:26 -0500 Report

I just want to say that I absolutely love this site and the helpful information found here. Everyone here deserves a big thank you for making this the best site ever. I am fairly new on here and have not looked at the review section yet but i definately intend to. Let us all be thankful for this site.

GabbyPA 2008-10-20 23:43:13 -0500 Report

AMEN to that. It is the best site out there, I know I have visited a lot of them. John, Amy and the tech crew work so very hard to make it a constructive place to learn and share. I am just saddened by what has happened in this discussion because a few people could not handle a constructive suggestion. I am in utter amazement at the swing it took, but I suppose that is the way of familys...we are just a very big one. LOL

caspersmama 2008-10-20 10:11:56 -0500 Report


GabbyPA 2008-10-20 10:15:05 -0500 Report

If you contact John personally and tell him the item you want removed, he will do that for you.

kdroberts 2008-10-20 10:22:44 -0500 Report

You will have to tell him which one, there are 5 for the Vaseline Intensive Rescue Clinical Therapy, not sure what other products you have reviewed though so maybe there are more.

Also the words "I was told not to review products but put them in discusions if they were not health related. Lotion is not important enough." were never said and nothing I said remotely came close to meaning that.

GabbyPA 2008-10-20 09:12:52 -0500 Report

I'm sorry KD.

Ironic, I was talking privately with another member about this very thing earlier today. I never thought it would turn out this way, but let the chaff be sifted from the wheat...I am very glad you brought it up. It needed to be addressed. Hopefully it will benefit everyone in the long run.

ericajean 2008-10-20 09:46:49 -0500 Report

I an new to this site and after reading the replies to KDs (Don,t ruin the review section), I am not sure if I want to be a part of this.My doctors' suggest being stress free as possible as part of my ebveryday routine and this is not helpful.Everyone getting bent out of shape is not healthy for any of us.Please forgive if i wrote this in the wrong section. Please, everyone take care!

GabbyPA 2008-10-20 09:50:40 -0500 Report

Hi Ericajean,

We are not usually this heated. Sometimes someone misunderstands things being said. If you read most of the discussions and such, they are very up beat and inspiring. Don't let this one get you upset. It is not the norm by any means.

ericajean 2008-10-20 10:00:52 -0500 Report

Gabby, I will definately give it a try.This was the first discussion i have read and replied to.I was a little shocked.

GabbyPA 2008-10-20 10:12:53 -0500 Report

Oh geez, that is bad.

Yes go read my "laughter" one, or one on "Be and I CAN diabetic" or something like that. You can search them in the search tab. Those will give you a better light into what we are made of. We are human, and we do get into some arguments, but it is not the way we float most times. Give us a try...we promise to behave. LOL

Edie 2008-10-23 23:15:23 -0500 Report

Thanks for joining us on this site. We are not like this really. But this discussion did give people a place to vent their anger about some disturbing issues. Hopefully they got it out of their systems and can now go on from here. I know that when I read things that upset me I don't add my 2 cents to it and just don't go back into that area in future till I need to let off steam. Or want to see what others are saying, sometimes it gives me a good laugh and we all need that at times.
Hopefully your new Friend;
Edie M.